Guide to Ukraine. Kyiv and Kyiv region
Culture of Trypilla in Kyiv region
Kyiv regional archaeological museum (village of Trypilla)
Museum is situated in the village of Trypilla on the Dnipro slopes. Nowadays there are 34 thousand exhibits, 11911 of which are archaeological, in the museum.
Complex of Kyiv regional archaeological museum includes Divych-hora (Hill Divych), where the settlement, sanctuary and ancient burial place of Zarubynetska culture (II century B.C.) was found. Main part of the exposition is occupied by culture of Trypilla V-III millenary B.C. According to the modern researches there are over 100 monuments of culture of Trypilla on the territory of Kyiv Dnipro region.
In 2002 museum was restored upon the design of the famous architect Anatolij Ignashenko.
Culture of Trypilla
Culture of Trypilla (Eneolithic period) was the most splendid and interesting culture. It existed in 4-2 millenary B.C. and was named after the settlement, discovered and explored by V. Khvoiko in 90’s of XIX century near the village of Trypilla in Kyiv region. A lot of explorers think that traditions of culture of Trypilla have been preserved in the national culture of Ukrainians.
Bust of the famous archaeologist Vikentij Khvoiko
In 2002 Kyiv regional archaeological museum was restored upon the design of the famous architect Anatolij Ignashenko. Bust of the famous archaeologist Vikentij Khvoiko was set up near the museum (author – M. Gorlovyj). In 1993 name of Vikentij Khvoiko was registered in the list of the outstanding people of UNESCO.
Museum of archaeological culture of Trypilla “Ancient Aratta-Ukraine” (village of Trypilla)
Museum “Ancient Aratta – Ukraine” is situated in the village of Trypilla, near which Kyiv regional ethnographer V. Khvoika opened archeology cal culture of Trypilla – the complex of material remains of apotheosis of Aratta.
Private museum “Ancient Aratta-Ukraine” was opened in February 2006. Founders of the museum art expert Oleksandr Polishuk, architect Volodymyr Lazorenko, national artist of Ukraine Anatolij Gaidamaka and archaeologist Yurij Shylov.
Divych-hora (Hill of Divych)
The famous Divych-hora, an ancient burial vault of Zarubynetska culture (III century B.C. – II century A.D.), rises above at the entrance to the modern Trypilla region. Here, on the site of ancient settlement Divych-hora in Trypilla region, sacrificial altar of our ancestors-pagans was situated.
Rzhyschev department of Kyiv archaeological museum (townof Rzhysduv)
Department of the Regional archaeological museum in the town of Rzhyschiv was opened in July 2003. The museum includes findings from the settlements of cultures of Trypilla and Chernyahiv, revealed during the excavations in 2000-2004 in the suburbs in the stow of Ripnytsya. During excavations researchers have found three dwellings of Trypilla culture; later 2000 excavated articles of the ancient Rus fortress, which was situated in the stow of Ivan-hora (Hill of Ivan), were transported from the Instituted of archeology for exhibition.
Square of Trypilla
In 2003 a monument, author of which is a laureate of Shevchenko award – A.V. Gaidamaka, was set up in the city park in honor of 110th anniversary of discovery of culture of Trypilla. In the same year square of Trypilla, which combines statuary groups with dendro-plantings, was laid.
Settlement in the stow of Ivan-Hora (Hill of Ivan)
Settlement of the ancient city was situated on the territory of the modern town of Rzhyshev, in the stow of Ivan-Hora, and it is known from the end of XIX century. The settlement rises above level of the river for 65-70 meters. Major part of the settlement was undermined by Dnipro-river and slided into flood plain.
Vyshgorod historical and cultural reserve
Citadel of the ancient settlement of Vyshgorod
Citadel was an administrative and community center of the town with dimensions of 350 x 250, and occupied the plateau upland. Suburbs were situated on the slopes of the hills. The settlement of Vyshgorod has three rows of wood and ground fortifications.
Remains and foundations of church and mausoleum of saint Boris and Hlib
Saint Boris and Hlib church is a marble building, constructed in 1865 on the ruins of an ancient Russian temple of XI-XII century.
The history of Vyshgorod is inseparable from the names of the first russian saints – Boris and Hlib, their faces are drawn on the coat of arms of Vyshgorod. Nowadays only foundation of the ancient Russian temple has survived – it was destroyed in 1240 in the time of Mongol invasion. In 1861-1863 Saint Boris and Hlib church was built on the foundation of .the ancient russian temple according to the design of the architect K. Ton, but later on in 1943 it was destroyed in the time of liberation of Kyiv and Vyshgorod from Nazi invaders. No sooner than 90’s it was rebuilt thanks to the Ukrainian society for preserving of historical and cultural monuments (N.I. Bulaevska) and church prior and archpriest Dmytrij (Denisenko).
Pottery center of Kievan Rus
An exhibition called «The development of pottery on the territory of Kyiv” where potters work is held in Vyshgorod.
Pottery art museum
Pottery art museum was opened in 2006. Presently there is an authentic throwing wheel operating in the museum.
Each Thursday visitors can take a master class with experienced potters and make a piece as a souvenir about the visit to such unique center as Pottery art museum.
Historical museum of Vyshgorod reserve
Exposition of the historical museum includes exhibits of the ancient cultures of Cossack era and present time.
Golden gate is the main gateway of the ancient Kyiv. It was built at the same time with Sophia Kyivska when the Yaroslav the Wise was the prince in 1037.
Golden gate is the unique monument of Old Russian defensive architecture of XI century in Kyiv.
Saint Sophia Cathedral is a Christian cathedral in the center of Kyiv, the monument of Ukrainian architecture and monumental painting of XI—XVII centuries, one of some buildings in the time of Kievan Rus, which escaped destruction. It was one of the main sacred objects of Eastern Europe and the center of the orthodox Kyiv metropolitanate. It is situated on the territory of Sophiysky monastery. Today it is the state architectural and historical reserve “Sophiysky museum”.
The first brick temple of Kievan Rus, erected in 988-996 in honor of the nativity of the Virgin Mary during the reign of Volodymyr Svyatoslavovych who gave 1/10 part of prince’s incomes – dessiatina (the name is derived from here) for the reconstruction and keeping it. Volodymyr Svatoslavovych, his wife Anna, Byzantine tsarina, were buried in Desyatynna church. The ashes of princess Olga was carried from Vyshgorod here.
Bogorodytsya Pyrogoscha church
The church of the Assumption of Mother of God Pyrogoscha was built in Podil. Old Russian “Podol”, old Ukrainian “Podolie” is lower part of the city, city area, situated in the coastal lowlands. The prince Mstyslav, the son of Volodymyr Monomah, was the founder of the Pyrogoscha church. According to the chronicles the Church of the Saint Mother of God Pyrogoscha was laid by Mstyslav. The reconstruction of the building was finished in 1135 after the death of prince Mstyslav (1133).
Myhailivsky Zolotoverhy monastery
Myhailivsky Zolotoverhy cathedral was erected in 1108-1113 by Kyiv prince Svyatopolk Izyaslavych who was the grandson of Yaroslav Mudry. It was destroyed by the Soviet Power in 30s of XX century. The cathedral was restored in 1997 – 2000.
The Monument to prince Volodymyr
The monument to Kyiv Prince Volodymyr Svyatoslavovych is the oldest sculptural monument of Kyiv built in 1853. It is one of the city symbols. It is situated on the lower terrace of Volodymyrska Hirka.
The authors were the sculptors V. I. Demut-Malynovsky and P. K. Klodt, the architect K. A. Ton. The bronze figure of the prince was poured off in St. Petersburg. The height is 4,5 meters. It rises above the pedestal base on 16 meters.
Askoldova mohyla is one of the most famous historical places and the hole in Kyiv, where there was the first city cemetery.
Askoldova mohyla arised on the place of the Ugorske hole. This place was connected with the legend about the murder of Kyiv princes Askold and Dir for a long time ago. According to the chronicle, Askold was buried just on this place. According to the legends princess Olga built a wooden Saint Mykola Church (Mykola is the name which Askold accepted at the christening in 867) here in X century. The Olga’s son destroyed the church in 971. The prince Volodymyr renovated the church, destroyed earlier only in 990. The nunnery was founded attached church in 1036.
Mykilsky Pustynsky monastery appeared on Ascold grave in XV century. There is an idea among Kyiv enlighteners that monastery church is an ancient church of Saint Mykola. It is mentioned as a church above the grave of prince Askold in the chronicle.
The monument to Apostle Andriy Pervozvanny
The sculpture was made of full granite block from Uman open pit. The pedestal of the monument is stylized in imitation clouds that symbolize the sancity of Apostle (the architect is M. Zharikov, the sculptor is V. Shvetsov).
It was built at the cost of public fund Andriy Pervozvanny. Opening of memorial sign was on 13 December 2000.
The monument in honor of Kyiv foundation
The memorial sign was installed in honor of Kyiv foundation to mark the occasion of 1500th anniversary of the city (the sculptor is B. Boroday, the architect is N. Feshchenko) in 1982. The annalistic founders of Kyiv – brothers Kyi, Schek, Khoryv and their sister Lybid, are represented there.
The Museum of Historical Jewellery of Ukraine
The museum of historical jewelleries of Ukraine was opened on the territory of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra in the building of XVII century, former monastery bakery, built by Stepan Kovnir, a serf of the monastery. The basic fund of the Museum is 56 thousands of objects of archaeology and useful art from precious metals and stones.
The collection of Jewish silver objects of religious worship of XVIII – beginning of XX century, made by the masters of Ukraine, Russia, Poland, Austro-Hungary, is unique. “West European of XVI – XX century” is one more meeting. It includes decorative goods of jewellers of Austria, Germany, Poland, Netherlands and France.
The National History Museum of Ukraine
The national museum of the history of Ukraine started to work in 1899. The Museum of jewelleries, in the collection of which there are masterpieces of the universal importance, dated by VI cent. BC – XX cent. AD is the component of the National History Museum of Ukraine. The collection of Scythian gold is one of the most interesting in the world. It is well-known collection of the Jewish hieratic silver of the XVIII-XX cent, in Ukraine and beyond the borders of it.
Kyiv of Cossacks age
Museum of Hetmanate
The museum is dedicated to history and traditions of Cossacks and Hetmans’ age. Funds of Museum number more than 6000 exhibits.
The museum represents life and activities of Ukrainian hetmans from Bogdan Khmelnitsky to Pavlo Skoropadskyi.
In 1690-1693 five-bathed Bogoyavlenskyi cathedral, a masterpiece of Ukrainian baroque, was built at hetman’s Ivan Mazepa cost. Original monument to the past – sundial shaped in form of a small column with metal faces is located in the public garden. French mathematician Bulion founded it at the end of XVIII century.
In 1701 Kyiv-Mohyla collegium achieved the status of academy.
Monument to Grygoriy Skovoroda
Monument to Grygoriy Skovoroda was erected in accordance with Ivan Kavaleridze project. Already at his evening of life the sculptor has created it in the way that Skovoroda stands not in front of academy, but looks at an old academic building as if it is the sign of his return to alma mater.
Monument to Petro Sagaidachny
Monument to P. K. Sagaidachny was erected in 2001. Authors: sculptor – V. Shevtsov, architects – M. Zharykov, R. Kuharenko.
Monument to Bogdan Khmelnitsky
It was solemnly opened on July 11,1888 on Saint Sophia’s square in Kyiv within the scope of 900-anniversary of Christianity assumption. It is one of Kyiv’s symbols, monument to XIX century art. Authors: sculptor M. Mikeshyn, architect V. Nikolaev.
Saint Sophia’s Cathedral
Saint Sophia’s Cathedral (Sofiyskyi Sobor) is located in the center of Kyiv. This is a monument to Ukrainian architecture and monumental painting of XI – XVIII centuries, one of a few edifices of Kyiv Rus age that has escaped destruction. It was one of main sacred places of Eastern Europe and center of orthodox Kyiv metopolitanate. It is located on the territory of Saint Sophia Monastery that nowadays has been reorganized to National preserve Sophiya Kyivska.
Commemorative sign, on place of which Svyato-Mykolaivskyi Military Cathedral was built at Ivan Mazepa’s cost
Mykilskyi Military Cathedral is an orthodox temple in Kyiv that was built by Ivan Mazepa in manner of Ukrainian baroque during 1690-1696 in Mykolaivsky Monastery. It was destroyed by Bolsheviks in 1934.
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra is a national preserve. It is partially used as monastery and residence of Kyiv metropolitan of Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Moscow Patriarchy.
It was founded in 1051 by monks Antonyi and Feodosyi in the caves near summer princely residence Berestovo not far from Kyiv.
In XI century monastery became the center of Christianity expansion and corroboration in Kyiv Rus. In XII century monastery achieved the status of “Lavra” that means main big monastery.
Nowadays appearance of monastery ensemble and its main; buildings are the result of great building activity of Ukrainian hetmans and Cossack colonels during XVII-XVIII centuries, i.e.: P. Konashevych- Sagaidachny, I. Mazepa, B. Khmelnitsky, I. Samoilovych, I.Skoropadskyi, P. Gertsyk, M. Mokievsky and others. In different times, the architects of Kyiv-Pecherska Lavra buildings were the following: A. Kovnir, M. Grygorovych-Barsky, Alimpiy.
Fortress of Pechersk (Pecherska fortetsya)
Museum “Kyiv fortress” (24a Hospitalna Street)
Museum “Kyiv fortress” is situated in the cone revetment of the fortress on Pechersk. Exposition of the museum tells about unique fortifications of Kyiv-city.
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra (fortifications) (211. Mazepa street)
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra is one of the most famous monuments in Kyiv. It was founded in 1051 by two monks – Antonius and Theodosius, in the caves near summer residence of princes called Berestove near the city of Kyiv.
In XI century the monastery became the centre of extension and consolidation of Christianity in Kievan Rus. In XII century the monastery earned the status of Lavra -the main large monastery.
Fortifications around Lavra were constructed at the end of XVII – beginning of XVIII century.
Earth mound from the side of Dnipro (14 Podilskyj alley)
Preserved defense works of XVIII century: main mound with bastions, two earth lunettes, upper and lower Moscow gates, gate of Vasylkiv, two powder magazines. In 1979 earthworks of the citadel with bastions were acknowledged as architecture monuments, and the territory around them, together with Pechersk monastery, became conservation area.
Moscow gate of the Kyiv fortress (21 Mazepa street)
Moscow gate is a south entrance to Kyiv-Pechersk fortress connected to the old Navodnytskyj track through Moscow lower gate. They were built in 1765 on the place of former wood P’yatnytska gate (named after the church, situated nearby).
Prozorovska tower of the Kyiv fortress (34 Schorsa street)
Monument of fortification architecture, which is a part of Vasylkiv fortification of the New Pechersk fortress. It was built in 1838-1839 buff bricks on granite foundation. It is situated in the right wing of the fortifocation of Vasylkiv.
Round tower of the Kyiv fortress (44 Schorsa street)
Fortification architecture monument built in 1833, which was finished in 1844. In 1863 a number of premises were used as a part on for political detainees, where participants of Polish rebellion M. Ul’yanov and F. Dzerzhinskij were kept. At the end of XIX century some windows were made on the second floor, and embrasures were bricked.
Mykilski gates of the Kyiv fortress (1 Mazepa street)
This monument of fortification architecture is main access to the territory of the New Pechersk fortress. It was built in 1846-1850.
Hospital fortifications (Cherepanova hill)
It is a part of the Kyiv fortress, built in 1836-1851 for military hospital.
Vasylkivske fortification (Chygorina street, Perspektyvna street, Schorsa street)
Complex of fortification structures, built in 1831-1844, from which construction of the New Pechersk fortress started.
National Kyiv-Pechersk historical and cultural reserve
Kyiv-Pechersk lavra is a national reserve. It is partially used as monastery and residence of Kyiv metropolitan of Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Moscow Patriarchate.
Saint Trinity above-gates church (Troitska Nadbramna church)
Saint Trinity church was built in XI century; it wasn’t destroyed either during the earthquake 1230 or Mongol and Tatar invasion in 1240.
At the end of XVII century and in XVIII the church was completely reconstructed in the style of Ukrainian baroque and it became as nowadays.
Numerous literary sources tell than at the end of XII century Pecherskyj monastery was encircled by fortress walls, which were quite heavy defense fortification of those times. New fortress walls around the monastery were erected in 1698-1701 on the money of hetman I. Mazepa.
Tower of Ivan Kuschnyk
Tower of Ivan Kuschnyk was built in 1698-1701 as a part of fortifications of Kyiv-Pechersk lavra between the Clock tower (Godynrykova bashta) and Holy gate (Svyati vorota). Its name came from the name of saint, in honor of whom the church on the second storey was planned to be opened.
Clock (South) tower (Godynnykova veja)
Clock (South) tower was erected as a part of fortifications of Kyiv-Pechersk lavra in 1698-1701 on the south corner of monastery between the tower of Ivan Kuschnyk and South gate. Name of the tower came from the clock, which was placed on the tower in 1701-1818. This clock was made by a serf of Lavra Petro Chernyavskyj called Dzygenmaister (“Watchmaker”) that is why tower has one more name – Dzygarska.
Onuphrius’ tower (Tower of Onuphrius)
Onuphirus’ tower is a church, built in 1698-1701 on the south-eastern corner of the monastery of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra between Malyarna tower (Painter’s tower) and South gate.
Malyarna tower (Painter’s tower)
Malyarna (North) tower is a part of fortifications of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra. Initial defense tower has not survived, and in 1838 a new one, also defense, was built on its place upon the design of colonel-engineer I. Dzychkanets.
Saint Nicholas church of Bolnytskyj monastery
The church firstly mentioned in 1462 as wooden one. Bricked church, which survived to our times, was built on its place in XVII century.
Cells of synodical old men
Two single-storey bricked buildings – cells of synodical old men, the most privileged part of monks of Lavra, – are situated on the left and right sides from the main entrance of the Reserve.
Large bell tower of Lavra
It was built in 1731 -1744 under the design of architect Johann Gotfrid Shedel. Local artist S. Kovnir, J. Rubashevskyj, I. Gorokh and others took part In the construction of the Large bell tower.
In 1903 new chimes, made by Moscow craftsmen, replaced an old clock of XVIII century. Mechanism of the clock is started manually each week with the help of a hoist. Chimes ring each 15 minutes and total hours.
It is the main monastic church of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra. It was erected in 1073- 1078 by ancient Rus architects (paintings were performed later in 1083-1089).
According to the annals, old Rus artist Alipij (Alimpij) and Hryhorij took part in painting of the interior.
All Hallows Church
All Hollows church was built above the Economical gate in 1696-1698 in the style of Ukrainian baroque.
Church is a masterpiece of Ukrainian architecture. It was built on the money of hetman Ivan Mazepa (there is his coat of arms in cartouches above passage).
Kovnirivskyj corps (Corps of Kovnir)
Bookshop (Kovnirivskyj corps) is one of the best structures of the Upper Lavra. Its construction is often connected with the name of an architect S. Kovnir.
Printing house of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra was founded in 1615 by E. Pletenetskyj.
Initially printing house was situated in a wooden premise, on the place of which in 1701 single-storey stone corps was built. When fire of 1718 burst out, the building burned to the ground, but it was restored in 1721-1722, and in 1772-1773 second storey was constructed above.
House of vicar of Lavra
There is a house of vicar of Lavra (second figure in hierarchy of Lavra) on the right side of the Large bell tower; it was lately reconstructed by J.G. Shedel in 40’s of XVIII century. Initially there was a key-house, which later was reconstructed for premises of a vicar.
Initially there were rooms of archimandrites of Lavra in this place. That was a two-storey wooden building with house church.
On April 21-22, 1718, a fire burst out in the cell of the vicar Varlaam Holenkovskyj.
A one-storey stone cell was built in the place of the burned house in 1727. Initially the house has had frou chambers, divided in two. In 1731 second storey was constructed above, and in XVIII century architect Johann Godfrid Shedel added one more similar corps to the existing one. At the beginning of XIX century both corpses were covered by a joint roof.
In 1776 a church in memory of the Annunciation of the Virgin was arranged in the east annex. House church, which survived till nowadays, was built in 1904- 1905 on the money of metropolitan Flavius (Horodetskyj) under the design of the architect E. Ermakov.
The building was damaged by the explosion of Uspensky Cathderal in November 1941 (during the World War II). Only brick shell and interior floors have survived. In 1960’s the building was restored lost structures and decoration of XVII century were renewed.
Now there is a Museum of Ukrainian national decorative art in the premises m metropolitan rooms and house metropolitan church.
Church of the Annunciation of the Virgin near Metropolitan rooms
First house church in honor of the Annunciation of the Virgin appeared near the rooms in 1776 in the east-part annex. House church, which survived till now» days, was built in 1904-1905 on the money of metropolitan Flavius (HorodetskyH under the design of the architect E. Ermakov.
Refectory chamber (Trapezna palata)
First stone building of the Refrectory chamber with church was erected in monastery in 1108-1110,on the money of Minsk prince Hlib VsesIavovych (lusting for Kievan throne, he donated a lot to Pechersk monastery, and after death he was buried in Uspensky cathedral). This construction was destroyed by the earthquake in 1230, and after Mongol invasion in 1240 ceased to exist.
In 1893 the Refrectory chamber was demounted, and a new one was built instead.
Building of the Refrectory chamber in the so-called Russian-Byzantine style was finished in 1895 under the design of the architect V. Nikolaev.
One of the four gates of the Upper Lavral Gate was built under the design of the military engineer Sh. de Shardon in 1793-1795. The Road to the caves leads from Soborna square to this gate. Territory of the Lower Lavra lies beyond the gate.
Bell tower of the Near caves
Bell tower of the Near caves of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra. It was built in 1759-1763 under the design of the architect S.D. Kovnir.
Khrestovozdvyzhenska church (Church of raising the Cross)
The greatest structure of the ground complex above the Near caves is a bricked Khrestovozdvyzhenska church, built in 1700 on the money of Cossack colonel P. Hertzyk.
Wells of the Reverend Antonius and Theodosius
According to the legends, founders of the monastery Antonius and Theodosius have dug out these wells by themselves, that is why last ones were named after the Reverends. Water from the wells of the Reverend Antonius and Theodosius, which were situated on the territory of the Lower Lavra, in a gully between Near and Far caves, always considered to be holy.
Annozachatiivska church (Church of Saint Anna’s Conception)
Church of Saint Anna Conception was built in 1679 above the entrance to the Far caves (stairs to the underground labyrinth lead directly from the church building). The church was reconstructed in 1809-1810, and baroque dome was replaced by a hip one. Author of this reconstruction was
O.l. Yakushin (hieromonk Arsenius, overseer of the Far caves).
Nativity of the Theotokos church
Nativity of Theotokos church in its modern form was built in 1696 on the money of colonel M. Mokievskyj. Formerly there were wooden churches, which were traditionally dedicated to the Holy Virgin, in this place.
This construction was built in 1750-1752 under the design of the architecture J.G. Shedel.
Bell tower of the Far caves
It was built in 1754-1761 under the design of the architect P, Neelov; construction works were guided by S.D, Kovnir.
Gallery to the Near caves
The gallery was constructed for the protection of pilgrims from the bad weather during their passage from the territory of the Lower Lavra to the Near caves.
First gallery was built in 1795. Then it was demounted during the Patriotic war of 1812 because of the danger of fire and displacement of artillery on the banks and bastions of Pechersk fortress. It was restored in 1819-1828.
Rectangular pavilion, built in 1816 and decorated with portico of Tuscan order, is an entrance to the gallery.
Gallery to the Far caves
Ground wooden gallery was built in XVIII century. In 1812 because of wrack and ruin, it became useless and was demounted by a construction spread of Pechersk fortress. It was then restored in 1816. After 40 years, the gallery became useless again and was reconstructed upon the design of the monk Eukarij in 1869.
Guest yard (Gostynnyj dvir)
Guest yard with a hospital and a church exists starting from XI century, from the times of Theodosius Pecherskyj, who has built a refuge for the poor and sick people on this place.
Refectory for the poor and sick pilgrims was built here in XVIII century. Later a hotel for monks and guests was erected in this place.
In XIX century several more buildings were constructed on the territory of the Guest yard upon the design of the academician and architecture V.M. Nikolaev.
Buildings on the territory of the Guest yard were erected in classical style. In 1979-1980 all buildings were completely overhauled.
Spas church on Berestovyj
Architectural monument; firstly mentioned in the annal of 1072. Burial vault of the princes from Monomakh family. In 1157 Yurij Dolgorukyj – son of Volodymyr Monomakh and founder of Moscow-city was buried here.
Only one first storey of the western part has survived. In 1640-1643, the church was restored in Ukrainian baroque style and painted by Greek craftsmen by order of Petro Mohyla. In 1752, during the overhaul, the church gained a five- domed top. In 1813-1814 a bell tower in classical shape was attached to it under the design of the architect A.I. Melenskyj.
Architectural monuments of Old Kyiv
Mykola Naberezhny church
Saint Mykola Naberezhny church is one of the dominating idea in the silhouette of Podil, prominent historical and architectural and art and aesthetic value. And now it remains the bright model of religious architecture. It is one of the best works in the rich heritage of the prominent master of Ukrainian baroque Ivan Grygorovych-Barsky.
The museum of hetmanship
The museum of hetmanship is a state cultural and educational and research establishment of the historical type, centre of the monuments of material and spiritual culture, which are connected with the history and the traditions of Cossack and hetman’s epoch. The Museum of Hetmanship is in the house, which is an architectural monument of the end of XVI century.
The date of foundation of the academy as Bratskyj Monastery is 1615 – the year of foundation of Bratska school.
The ancient building was kept. The first floor of it was built at the presence of Ivan Mazepa in 1703 -1704.
Blahovischenska church was built by Johann-Gottfried Schaedel in 1732 -1740s.
Greek Monastery of Saint Catherine was built in the middle of XVIII century by the architect Grygorovych-Barsky in the style of neodassicism in 1915.
The building #2 in Bratska Street
The building #2 in Bratska Street was built in the style of Ukrainian baroque for the granary of the city magistrate in 60s of XVII century. The author of the project was the architect Grygorovych-Barsky. The third floor was completed after the fire in Podil (1811).
The monument of architecture of the national importance was built in the style of Ukrainian baroque by the architect Grygorovych-Barsky in 1766. The fire in 1811 and later reconstructions changed the original look of Pokrovska church. Iconostasis was executed by the architect Shtrom in the middle of XIX century. The belfry – XVIII century, was constructed in XIX century. Pokrovska church was renovated in 1981-1982.
It was built by the prominent master of domestic architecture F. Rastrelli in 1747-1762.
Andriivska church was built to order of the empress Elysaveta Petrivna. The project of the building was made by B. Rastrelli in 1748, the construction works were in 1749-1754 line the guidance of the famous Moscow architect Ivan Michurin.
Russian and Ukrainian masters I.Vyshnyakov, O.Antropov took part in the creation of the painting of the temple, and iconostasis was made by LRomensky and I.Chaikovsky.
Mariinsky palace was laid under the project of B. Rasta in Kyiv in 1750-1755. The empress Elyzaveta Petrivna chose place for it during the visiting of Kyiv in 1744.
The facade of Mariinsky palace looks on Mariinsky Park, laid in the landscape style in 1874. There is City (Royal) Garden from the opposite side of the palace on the basis of the ancient Regular garden in 1743.
Today this historical building represents our country in the world as a state residence. It is called President Palace. The solemn state events – rewarding, receptions, serving of the credentials by the Ambassadors of foreign countries, summits and meetings of official delegations on the highest standard are held in it.
At first sight this unremarkable house has; an interesting history. It was built in the style of classicism for the commandant of Pechersk fortress P.L. Vigel in 1798. Kostyantyn Ipsilanti (1760 -1816), governor of Moldova and Walachia, the participator of Greek anti-Turkish liberation movement, settled in this house with his family in 1807-1816.
K. Ipsilanti found the shelter in Kyiv after suppressing the liberating rebellion by Turkish in Moldova and Walachia. He died in Kyiv and was buried in Georgi- ivska church.
Old Pechersk fortress
Old Kyiv-Pechersk Fortress is a complex of the buildings, built in XVIII century. The citadel of Kyiv fortress occupies the territory about 20 ha on the high right bank of Dnipro round the National Kyiv-Pechersk historical and cultural reserve.
The main rampart with bastions, two earth lunettes, upper and lower Moscow gates, Vasylkivska gate, and two powder cellars are left from the defensive structures of XVIII century. Earth fortifications of citadel with bastions were declared the national monument of architecture in 1979. The fortress is a prominent monument of military engineering art.
“Khata na Priortsi” Literary and memorial house-museum.
The museum reproduces the house of T. Shevchenko. It has different ethnographic exhibits of thgt time.
Literary and memorial house-museum of Taras Shevchenko
Literary and memorial house-museum of Taras Shevchenko was opened in 1928.T.G. Shevchenko lived and worked in this house.
The main building of Kyiv University
Kyiv National Taras Shevchenko University is the main educational institution of Kyiv and Ukraine.
The house of the main (“red”) building of the university was built in the forms of Russian classicism under the design of V.I. Beretti in 1837-1843.
The university achieved the name in honor of the prominent Ukrainian poet T. Shevchenko in 1939 because he worked here as an assistant- worker of archaeological committee after the graduation of Petersburg Art Academy in 1845-1846.
The monument to Taras Shevchenko
The monument to Taras Shevchenko was installed on the occasion of 125th anniversary from the poet’s birthday (the sculptor is M.M. Manizer) in 1939.
Taras Shevchenko National Museum
Taras Shevchenko National Museum was established on the basis of the former Taras Shevchenko Art Gallery in Kharkiv and The Central state museum of Taras Shevchenko.
The collection of the museum consists of such unique values: original Shevchenko’s painting works, documents about his life and works, written lists of his poems, rare photos of the poet and his friends, first printing of Shevchenko’s works with his signature, almost all editions of the poet and the literature about him.
The Nativity church
The Nativity church (built in 1810 -1814) had a great importance for Ukrainian from three Empire (neoclassic) churches, built by A.Melensky in Podil and destroyed in 1930s. The coffin with the body of famous poet T. Shevchenko was just in this church on 6-8 May 1861 on the way to the last place of peace in Kaniv.
Khrystovozdvyzhenska church, famous among the inhabitants of Kyiv as “Shevchenkivska” was destroyed in 1935.
The building was renovated under the project of the architect Y.G. Lysytsky in 2004. The sanctifying happened on 14 January 2005.
Shevchenko’s national reserve
Shevchenko’s national reserve is situated 4 km on the south from the centre of the city. The reserve was established in August 1925.
The total area of the conservation zone is 2500 hectare. The reserve consists of 8 monuments of cultural heritage.
Museum collection of the Reserve counts over 20 thousands of unique monuments. The memorial things and Taras Shevchenko’s etching, rare editions of his works, highly artistic works of Ukrainian and foreign artists, masterpieces of amateur and folk arts, valuable archival documents, photo materials and footage, audio and video recordings of the famous bandura and kobza players are the decoration of it. There is a research library, attached to the Reserve, the funds of which are formed of thematic collections of the books, the quantity of which is 23 thousand copies.
Kaniv Museum of Folk and Decorative Art
The museum is open from 23 April 1972. At first the exposition was in Uspensky cathedral. The cathedral was transferred to the religious community in 1990. And the museum was placed in the house of Bazulianska School. It is the monument of architecture of the 18 century.
The things of three central regions of Ukraine are represented in the museum: Cherkaska, Kyivska and Poltavska. There are 5 thousands of the exhibits.
Formation of Ukrainian national identity in 1917-1921
The budding of Central Rada
Central Rada (Council) operated in the building, where formerly existed Pedagogical museum (architect Nikolaev). UCR was founded in Kyiv on March 4,19lf by Society of Postupovosti of Ukraine with participation of Ukrainian political parties, military people, workers, clergy, businessmen, students, social and cultural organizations (Ukraine Science Society, Ukrainian Pedagogical Society, Society off Ukrainian technicians and agronomists, etc.). M. Grushevsky was appointed as the head of UCR. During its existence, UCR conducted 9 plenary sessions and declared 4 universal.
General Secretariat of military affairs of National Republic of Ukraine
General secretariat of military affairs of National Republic of Ukraine was situated in the house of the Board of Pavlo Galagan. A lot of members of the Old Society (Stara Gromada) and outstanding Ukrainian figures headed the Board (I. Nechyporenko, P. Zhytetskyj, V. Naumenko, E. Tregubov, Z. Arkhimovych and others); a lot of scientists and civil figures came out it: A. Krymskyj, O. Malynovskyj, M. Maksymeiko, M. Chubynskyj, A. Livytska, V. Lypskyj, P. Fylypovych and others.
General Secretariat of internal affairs of National Republic of Ukraine
From the very beginning General Secretariat was situated in the building V Central Rada on 54 Volodymyrska street.
The first deputy of Ukrainian government, V. Vynnychenko, told that Duma “for a long time didn’t want to give any premise for its government, General Secretariat. And it had to accept a dirty, befouled hotel called “Savoj”. The building didn’t survive the World War II, and now there is a building of City Rada of Kyiv on its place on 36 Khreshatyk Street.
General Staff of National Republic of Ukraine
The General Staff of National Republic of Ukraine was situated in the building of modern National museum of Taras Shevchenko. Museum was situated on 12 Taras Shevchenko boulevard.
Monument to Mykhailo Grushevsky
In 1998 a monument to the Ukrainian historian and political figure M.S. Grushevsky was erected near the former First gymnasium at the corner of Volodymyrska street and Taras Shevchenko boulevard.
Monument to the Heroes of Kruty
Battle near Kruty took place on January 16 (29) 1918 on the railway station near the village of Kruty at a distance of 130 kilometers south-east from Kyiv: the battle of Bolshevik army of Mykhailo Muravyov and 300 students from Kyiv, who defended the accesses to Kyiv, lasted for about 5 hours. Later, at funerals, which took place on the Askold Tomb, President Mykhailo Grushevskyj named young men, who died in the unequal fight, as heroes, and poet Pavlo Tychyna dedicated a verse to them. In 2006, a monument was set up on the battleground, and National Bank of Ukraine emitted commemorative hryvna to the 80th anniversary of the battle.
Ministry of military affairs of National Republic of Ukraine
Ministry of military affairs of National Republic of Ukraine was situated in the private residence of Liberman. Private residence of Liberman (2 Bankova Street) was built in 1879 by architect V. Nikolaev.
State bank of National Republic of Ukraine
After establishing of National Republic of Ukraine on September 29,1917, General Secretariat of NRU declared in its Declaration to work out a draft law on the creation of National Ukraine bank, “to which Kyiv office of the State Bank and all its departments on the territory of Ukraine should pass all affairs” On December 9,1917, Mala Rada (Small Council) of NRU approved such draft law, and on December 22 Central Rada adopted the law on conversion Kyiv office of the State Bank of Russia into Ukrainian national bank.
In memory of Holodomor
“Museum of Ivan Gonchar”. Ukrainian centre of national culture
Museum of Ivan Gonchar is a state all-Ukrainian specialized scientific-research and cultural-educational institution.
Collection of the museum numbers over 15 thousand ethnographical and artistic articles, among which one can find a unique collection of Easter eggs – pysanka (500 items), wooden carved objects, products made of steel and glass, valuable collection of national musical instruments. One part is dedicated to the history of Holodomor in Ukraine.
Memorial sacred to the memory of victims of Holodomor in Ukraine
Memorial sacred to the memory of victims of Holodomor in Ukraine is a memorial complex in Kyiv, which was opened for 75th anniversary of Holodomor (November, 2008), on the territory of park of Glory (park Slavy), not far from Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra.
Authors of the commemorative token: artist – A. Haidamaka, architect – Y. Kovalyov.
Monument to victims of Holodomor on Saint Michael’s square (Mykhailivska square)
Monument to victims of Holodomor was opened on September 11, 1993 on Saint Michael’s square near Saint Michael’s cathedral (Mykhailivskyj Zolotoverkhyj sobor). It was created by artist V. Perevalskyj together with architect M. Kyslyj.
Building of “Corn shop” (“Khlibnyj magazyn”)
House No. 2 on Bratska Street was built in 60’s of 18th century in the style of Ukrainian baroque as a grain barn for city magistrate by architect I.G. Grygorovych-Barskyj.
Commemorative token in memory of victims of totalitarianism near Saint Nicholas’ church (church of Nickolas-Naberezhnyj)
Commemorative token was set up in 1993 upon the design of architect Oleksij Ignatenko for”those, who died for Ukraine”. The token in the form of stone cross is dedicated to the victims of liberation struggle, Holodomor and political repressions.
Kyiv during the Second World War
National Museum of Great Patriotic War History of 1941-1945, Motherland Monument, Sculptural Composition «Forced Crossing of Dnieper», Bowl «Fire of Glory»
National Museum of Great Patriotic War History of 1941-1945 is a memorial complex opened in 1981. It occupies 10 hectares. Sculptors are Y. Vuchetych, V Borodai and others, architect is V. Yelizarov.
The complex includes the following: muse um with Mother Motherland monument (height -162 m, total height of edifice is 108 m, weigh of monument is 5301, Mother Motherland hold; a 16-meter height sword in her hand), mail square with Alley of Hero-Cities and sculptural compositions Forced Crossing of Dnieper and Armor Transference, galleries of front and rear with bronze alto-relievo compositions, bowl Fire of Glory, exhibition of warlike equipment and armaments, separate construction, where permanently operating relic expositions are rep resented.
Names of more than 11600 warriors and more than 200 rear workers are incused on marble plates in the memorial hall. These names represent people to whom title Hero of Soviet Union was conferred.
State Museum-Preserve «Battle for Kyiv in 1943» on the territory of Liutizh bridgehead in suburbs of village Novi Petrivci of Vyshgorodskyi region
State museum-preserve «Battle for Kyiv in 1943» is located on the territory d Liutizh bridgehead in suburbs of village Novi Petrivci of Vyshgorodskyi region a Kyivska oblast, from where troops of the 1st Ukrainian Front expanded Kyiv Strategic Attacking Operation on November 3,1943 and set free the capital of Ukraine on November 6,1943.
Grateful descendants erected here: Monument to Soldier-Liberator in 1958, diorama called “Battle for Kyiv. Liutizh bridgehead” in 1980, stately museum-palace commemorating 50-anniversary of Kyiv liberation in 1993.
Ancient and Modern Kyiv
National History Museum of Ukraine
National History Museum of Ukraine started funtioning as City Museum of Antiquity and Arts with the display of archaeological exhibition in honor of XI All Russian Archaeological Convention that took place in Kyiv from August 1 till August, 20, 1899. The official opening of the museum took place in 1904.
Museum of Historical Jewelleries of Ukraine is a constituent part of the National History Museum of Ukraai In collection of the first there are masterpieces of world value dated back to 4 period from VI century A.A.C till XX century A.D. The collection of Scythian gold considered to be one of the best in the world. The collection of Jewish cult silver of XVIII—XX centuries is known in Ukraine and far abroad.
It was the first stone church in Kyiv Rus. The Church was erected by Byzantine and local (Kyivska Rus) workers (988 — 996) in honor of the nativity of the Virgin Mary during princedom of Volodymyr Sviatoslavovych, who had allocated the tenth part of princely income – desyatynna (that is where the name comes from) for its construction and maintenance. Volodymyr Sviatoslavovich and his wife, Byzantine Princess Anna, were buried in the Desyatynna Church; also the remains of Princess Olga were reburied in this church from Vyshgorod. Currently only foundation of the church has remained.
In 1928 Desyatynna Church was destroyed by Soviet authorities. Nowadays the church has not been reconstructed.
Saint Andrew Church
Saint Andrew church was built by order of Empress Elizabeth Petrivna. The edifice was designed by F. Rastrelli in 1748. The construction held in 1749-1754 under the guidance of famous Moscow architect Ivan Michurin.
Saint Andrew’s Church is one of the most outstanding constructions of baroque style, which expanded in architecture and art at the end of XVII – in the middle of XVIII century.
Memorable Sign in Honor of Founders of Kyiv
Memorable sign in honor of founders of Kyiv brothers Kyi, Schek, Khoryv and their sister Lybld. 1982, Kyiv. Sculptor V. Boroday.
Golden Gates (Zoloti Vorota)
Golden Gates is the main gateway of ancient Kyiv. They were erected simultaneously with Sofiya Kyivska in 1073 at the age of Yaroslav the Wise (Yaroslav Mudryi) princedom.
The Golden Gates of Kyiv is a unique monument lo Old Russian defensive architecture of XI century.
Nowadays appearance Golden Gates have received after reconstruction in 1982 (restorers are Y, Lopushynska, M. Kholostenko, S. Bysotskyl).
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra is partially used as monastery and residence of Kyiv metropolitan of Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Moscow Patriarchy.
It was founded in 1051 by monks Antonyi and Feodosyi in the caves near summer princely residence Berestovo not far from Kyiv.
In XI century monastery became the center of Christianity expansion and coroboration in Kyiv Rus. In XII century monastery achieved the status of “Lavra”. That means main big monastery. It is included into the list of cultural heritage protected by UNESCO.
National preserve «Sofiya Kyivska»
Saint Sophia’s Cathedral (Sofiyskyi Sobor) is a Christian cathedral located in the center of Kyiv. This is a monument to Ukrainian architecture and monumental painting of XI – XVIII centuries, one of a few edifices of Kyiv Rus aye that has escaped destruction. It was one of the main sacred places of Eastern Europe and center of Kyiv metropolitanate.
The Cathedral as main temple of the country has played his role not only of spiritual center, but as politic and cultural center as well. Under vault of Saint Sophia solemn “seatings” to Great Prince throne were done as well as church synods, reception of ambassadors, ratification of political agreements. Attached to the cathedral chronicles were written and first Rus-wide famous library and school were established.
Image of Oranta, located in central apsis, is considered to be a masterpeace of mosaic art. It is a figure of the Holy Virgin Mary raising her arms in prayer. Mosaic has the height of 6 meters. Uniqueness of the image consists in the fact that it is done on the interior surface of the Cathedral’s dome, and from different sides of view Oranta looks as if it is pictured in different postures—standing, bending in prayer or on her knees.
Nowadays graffiti still remains on the walls of Saint Sophia’s Cathedral. Number of graffiti items and drawings (more than 300 remains) are witnessing about the high level of the written language in Kyiv Rus. The cathedral is included into the list of cultural heritage protected by UNESCO.
Monument to Bogdan Khmelnitsky
Bogdan Khmelnitsky monument was opened on July 11, 1888 on Saint Sophia’s square in Kyiv within the scope of 900-anniversary of Christianity assumption. It is one of Kyiv’s symbols, monument to XIX century art.
On the image courageous commander on the horse seems to be breaking steepy motion in order to direct people that are standing on the square to north east (exactly on Sophia’s square, on December 23, 1648 Kyivites were greeting Bogdan Khmelnitsky and Cossack regiments after their victory under Pyliavtsi).
Mykhailivsky Zoloteverkhy (Saint Michaels’ Golden-Domed) Cathedral
Mykhailivsky Zoloteverkhy (Saint Michels’ Golden-Domed) Cathedral was built in 1108—1113 by Kyiv Great Prince Svyatopolk Izyaslavovych, grandson of Yaroslav the Wise.
The most sacred thing in the monastery is relics of Saint Great Woman Martyr Varvara that were brought here by the wife of Svyatopolk.
It was destroyed by Soviet regime in 1934, Reconstructed in 1997-2000.
Cultural and national movement that was organized by the ruling circles of Rich Pospolyta preceded the origin of the Kyiv Mohyla Academy, and promptly formed characteristic features in conditions of increased offensive on social and spiritual interests of Ukrainians.
Kyiv Mohyla Academy for a long time has been the unique higher general; all classed educational institution of Ukraine, Eastern Europe and all Orthodox world. The Academy being based on principles of humanism and elucidative not only educated young people but also diffused education, knowledge, its pupils opened schools, funded libraries, assisted development of culture, art, literature, music, theater.
Kyiv State House of Teacher. Monument to Mykhailo Grushevskyi
Teacher’s House was founded in 1922 as House of educational workers. In 1934 it was reorganized into Kyiv State House of Teacher. Monument to Ukrainian historian and politic figure Mykhailo Grushevskyi was established in 1998. The monument is located on the corner of Volodymyrska Street and Taras Shevchenko Boulevard near the building of the former First Gymnasium.
Taras Shevchenko University
Kyiv national university named after Taras Shevchenko is a leading higher education establishment of Kyiv in Ukraine, national centre of fundamental science and culture, one of the largest and oldest universities of Ukraine.
In summer 1834 Kyiv University welcomed its first 62 students. In 1939 the University was named after prominent Ukrainian poet Taras Shevchenko. After graduating Petersburg academy of arts he worked here as an assistant of archaeological and geographical committee (in 1845-1846).
Presently, Kyiv national university named after Taras Shevchenko is a wide branched educational and scientific complex, which combines 15 faculties and 5 institutes.
Monument to Taras Shevchenko
Monument to Taras Shevchenko in Kyiv was established in 1939 dedicated to the 125-anniversary of poet’s birthday. It is one of the symbols of modern Kyiv.
Memorial sacred to the memory of victims of Holodomor in Ukraine
Memorial sacred to the memory of victims of Holodomor in Ukraine was opened for 75th anniversary of Holodomor (November, 2008), on the territory of park of Glory (park Slavy), not far from Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra.
Authors of the commemorative token: sculptor – A. Haidamaka, architect -Y. Kovalyov.
Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence square)
Maidan Nezalezhnosti is a central square of Kyiv.
Up to the end of X century this territory, a whole modern Kreshatyk, was called Perevisyshe and was just a bog. On the place, where now Sofijska street starts, Lyadska brama (Lyadska gate), which led to the upper city, was situated.
Stone fortress walls and the so-called Pechersk gate were built on the territory of the square in XVIII century, and existed up to 1833.
In 1991 the square gained its present name in honor of declaration of independence of Ukraine. It is necessary to point out, that in everyday life the name Maidan nezalezhnosti has been used from 1990; this name appears due to the large amount of mass meetings in support of independence of Ukraine, which were conducted on the square in 1989-1991, art was quite ironic, so the official renaming just fixed popular name.
In 2001 the square was restored.
In winter 2000-2001 protest action “Ukraine without Kuchma” took place on Maidan, and in 2004 it became a centre of Orange revolution.
Churches of Kyiv
It was erected in the whole Dorogozhychi as a cathedral of patrimonial monastery of Chernihiv princes Olgovychi in the middle of XII century. The temple was prince’s tomb in XII – XIII centuries. The prince Svyatoslav Vsevolddovych, one of the characters of “The Lay of Igor’s Warfare”, was buried in it in 1194.
Mykola Prytysk church
Mykola Prytysk is one of three temples in Podil, dedicated to Saint wonder maker Mykola. It is a unique monument of the Renaissance epoch.
The wooden temple of the same name was erected on this place at the cost of the inhabitants of the whole Kozhum’yaku, who have got the handicraft shop (collective member of Kyiv brotherhood) in 1748. The wooden temple burned out at the fire in 1811. This year the stone warm temple was laid in the name of Archangel Myhail (Michael). The construction of the upper temple was started in 1823 and it was consecrated in honor of the Exaltation of Holy and Vivifying Cross in 1841. Prydil was built from the north in honor of Kazanska icon of Mother of God, and from the south – Saint apostle Andriy Pervozvanny (Saint Andrew) in 1860. The chapel was built from the north side in 1914.
Florivsky Voznesensky nunnery
The monastery, famous from XV century, is situated in Podil. It was united with Voznesensky monastery, which was transferred from Pechersk because of reconstruction of Old Pechersk Fortress (there is a store of Old Pechersk fortress on the place of it now) in 1710.The main temple of the monastery, Voznesenska church, was built in 1722-1732.
Bogorodytsya Pyrogoscha church
Bogorodytsya Pyrogoscha church is one of the most ancient brick buildings of Kyiv (destroyed in the beginning of XX century in totalitarianism). It was built in 1132 – 1136 during the reign of the son of Volodymyr Monomah – Mstyslav at the foot of Zamkova Mountain in the area of the present Kontraktova Square. The Sacred object of the church, the icon of Our Lady, was kept in Constantinople tower, which name was Pyrogoscha, earlier. Consequently the name Pyrogoscha appeared. It is mentioned in “The Lay of Igor’s Warfare” in the connection of the returning the prince Igor Svyatoslavovych from Polovtsians captivity.
It was built by the prominent master of domestic architecture F. Rastrelli In 1747-1762. It rises above the one of the chutes of Starokyivska Mountain.
Andriivska church was built to order of the empress Elyzaveta Petrivna. The project of the building was drawn up by B. Rastrelli in 1748, the construction works were in 1749-1754 under the guidance of the famous Moscow architect Ivan Michurin.
Myhailivsky Zolotoverhy monastery
Myhailivsky Zolotoverhy cathedral was erected in 1108 -1113 by Kyiv prince Svyatopolk Izyaslavych who was the grandson of Yaroslav Mudry.
There was Dymytrivsky monastery on this place in XI century. It was founded by Prince Izyaslav Yaroslavych (the Christian name was Dmytro). His son Svyatopolk (the Christian name was Myhayto) started to erect the brick Myhailivsky temple in father’s monastery in July 1108. The relics of the Saint Great Martyr Varvara, which were brought by the wife of Svyatopolk, became the most important sacred object. This sacred object was in it to the bitter end, to the destruction of Myhailivsky cathedral.
It was destroyed by the Soviet Power in 1937. The memorial sign to M. Makarenko was installed on the facade of the monastery. He refuse to sign the statement about the cathedral demolishing and died in Novosibirsk prison.
The cathedral was restored in 1997 – 2000.
Saint Sophia Cathedral (Sophiisky cathedral) is a Christian cathedral in the centre of Kyiv, the monument of Ukrainian architecture and monumental painting of XI – XVII centuries, one of some buildings of Kievan Rus epoch, that escaped destruction, and one of the main sacred object of Eastern Europe and the centre of orthodox Kyiv metropolitanate.
In the time of Kievan Rus the cathedral, as the main temple of the state, played i part not only spiritual but also political and cultural centre. The solemn ascending on the prince’s throne, church councils, receptions of ambassadors, ratification of political agreements were held under the arch of the Saint Sophia. It was kept the chronicle at the cathedral. First known library and school was organized on Rus.
260 square meters of mosaic and 3 thousand square meters of frescos were kept and came to us through the centuries. The mosaics of XI century, which decorate the main parts of the temple – central bathhouse and the main parts, have the particular value. The biggest picture of Mother of God – Orante in the world is considered the masterpiece of mosaic art. It is a figure of Saint Virgin Mary, the hands of which are raised in the prayer. It is in the central apse. The mosaic is 6 meter height. This image is called “Immovable wall” for a long time ago.
The ancient inscriptions – graffiti, were kept on the walls of Sophiysky cathedral till this time. The quantity of graffiti and drawings (kept more than 300) affirms about high level of the written language in Kievan Rus. Saint Sophia Cathedral was announced the State architectural and historic reserve in 1934. It was inscribed to the list of worldwide heritage of UNESCO in 1990.
Volodymyrsky cathedral (Patriarchal cathedral church of Said Volodymyr) is an orthodox cathedral in Kyiv, the main temple of Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Kyiv Patriarchate. It was built in 1862 -1882. The cathedral was built in Russian pseuo-Byzantine style. The initial project of the cathedral was drawn up by the architects I. V. Shtorm and P.l Sparro. Later it was remade by the architect V. Beretti. The architects Y. Bernhardt, K.Y. Maevsky, V.M. Nikolaev took part in the reconstruction of the cathedral.
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra is partly used as a monastery and a residence of Kyiv metropolitan of Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Moscow patriarchate.
It was founded by the monks Antoniy and Feodosiy in the caves near summer prince’s resident Berestovo near Kyiv in 1051.
The monastery became the centre of spreading and confirmation of Christianity in Kievan Rus in the eleventh century. The monastery achieved the status “lavra” – the main big monastery, in the twelfth century.
The present ensemble of Vydubytsky monastery was formed in the end of XVII – In the beginning of XVIII century. Myhaylivsky cathedral has also been kept on the territory of monastery. It was erected in 1070-1088 (built completely in 1766 – 1769, the architect was Myhaylo Yurasov). The Father Superior of this monastery Sylves created one of the versions of “The Story of the Passing Years” in 1116. Kyiv chronicle was kept there.
Museum “Spiritual treasures of Ukraine”
Local museum “Spiritual treasures of Ukraine” is a private museum in Kyiv, founded by Kyiv cardiologist Ihor Ponamarchuk.
There are about 300 icons of XV-XX century and masterpieces of Ukrainian national artist Mariya Pryjmachenko represented in the exhibition. Another hall is a place for picture and sculpture galleries of the modern artists.
National museum of art of Ukraine
National museum of art is one of the largest and oldest in Ukraine. During its long lifetime (over 100 years) it has gathered a unique collection of works of Ukrainian pictorial, sculptural and graphical art starting from XII century. About 20 thousand exhibits.
“Museum of Ivan Gonchar”. Ukrainian centre of national culture
Museum of Ivan Gonchar is a state all-Ukrainian specialized scientific-research and cultural-educational institution. Aim of the Centre is to preserve revival and improve the development of Ukrainian national culture. Collection of Icons (about 500 items) from various regions of Ukraine is represented mostly by national trend and covers XVI- XVIII centuries.
Saint Trinity above-gates church (Troitska Nadbramna church)
Saint Trinity above-gates church (1106-1108, restored in XVII- XVIII centuries) is a vivid example of an ancient Rus sacred art of building of XII century. The interior of the church was painted in 1734 in baroque style. Ukrainian artists from icon-painting workshop of Lavra Alimpij Halyk, John Feoktistov, Moses Yakubovich, Ivan Kovelskyj, F. Pavlovskyj and I. Maksymovych were the main artists.
All Hallows church
All Halows Church (1696-1698, restored in 1718-1727, architect Aksamytov) was constructed in the style of Ukrainian baroque. Paintings of interior walls were performed in 1906 under the guidance of the artist I. Yijakevych.
Kyiv – the crossroads of cultures and religions
Saint Michael Naberezhnyj’s church
Wooden temple in memory of Saint Michael was built in XI century. Construction of the new stone temple of Saint Michael Naberezhnyj began at the beginning of 1772 near the wooden church. It was finished in 1782, though arranging and decorative works of the interior of the church continued for several more years. Author of the architectural masterpiece was an outstanding Ukrainian architect Ivan Grygorovych-Barskyj.
Saint Elias the Prophet church
The first church in Rus, known to us from the written sources, was Kievan church of Saint Illa (Elias) the Prophet. It existed almost half-century before baptism of Rus by Saint Volodymyr. In the place, where ancient church was situated, people of Kyiv built a new bricked Saint Ilia’s church in 1692 that embellishes Podil and embankment of Dnipro River for over three centuries.
Mosque of Ar-Rakhman
First attempts to build a mosque on the territory of Ukraine were made in 1897. Muslims of that time opened only a preaching-house in Kyiv on Myrnaya Street 5, In the building of Kalynovych on Podil. At the beginning of XX century, preaching-house was transferred to Myrnaya street 4. Preaching-house of that time was a temporary variant, though there wit in idea to build a mosque, calculated for 800 believers.
The next attempt to build a mosque was made only in 1991.
Construction of the mosque was step-by-step, on the donations of Muslims. Starting from 1998, after the completion of the first part of the mosque, preaching in it took place every Friday and on holidays.
In 2000 a half-moon was set up on the dome of the new mosque, which was named Ar-Rakhman (Mosque of Mercy); after that temple opened its doors to all parishioners.
Holy Protection nunnery (Svyato-Pokrovskyj monastyr)
Nunnery was founded in 1889 by the great princess O.P. Romanova; it is situated on Kudryavka. Nunnery was closed by Soviet government in 1923, but in 1941 it was re-opened.
In pre-Soviet times nuns of the monastery helped sick people, and injured ones – during the war. Abbey complex, designed by the architect V.M. Nikolaev, includes Holy Protection church (1899), Nicholas cathedral (1896-1906), concept and initial drawings belong to the son of the founder – P.M. Romanov, architect – V.M. Nikolaev.
Saint Basil church
Saint Basil church is a Ukrainian Greek Catholic church (UGCC) at the monastery of fathers-basilians in Kyiv, situated on Voznesenskyj slope near Lvivska Square. It was built under the design of the architect: Larysa Skoryk. The first hegumen was hieromoti Theodosius Yankiv (2000-2005).
In summer 1993, Archbishop Sophron Dmytrenko, bishop of Ivano- Frankivsk, sanctified the cross for the construction of the church. The building began in August 1998.
Monastery was solemnly opened on June 22, 2001.
On June 25, 2001 the Pope John Paul II, while being in Ukraine, visited and blessed the church and monastery. In May, 2001 consecration of the church and altar, in which refits of blissful martyr Jehoshaphat Kotsylovskyj were laid, took place.
Synagogue of Brodskyj
In 90’s of XIX century the owner of several sugar mills and patron Lazar Brodskyj expressed an idea to build his own choral synagogue. After receiving approval from the senate of the Russia Empire in spring 1897, synagogue was then opened on August 24 (Septembers 1898 for the 50th anniversary from the date of birth of Brodskyj.
Formal opening of the restored Central synagogue of Kyiv was on March V 2000. In 2008 Jewish community celebrated 110th anniversary of the synagogue.
Saint Michael’s cathedral (Mykhailivsky) Zlatoverkhyj sobor)
Saint Michael’s cathedral was built in 1108-1113 by Kievan prince Svyatopa Izyaslavovych – grandson of Yaroslav the Wise.
In XI century there was Dymytryvskyj monastery, founded by Prince Izyaslav Yaroslavovych (Christian name Dmytro), in this place. In July, 1108, his son Svyatopolk (Christian name Michael) started d construction of the stone Michael’s Chun in father’s monastery. The greatest sacred object of the monastery were the relics Holy Martyr Varvara, transported by Svjatopolk’s wife.
It was destroyed by Soviet government in 1934. Then it was reconstructed 1997-2000.
Oleksandrivska Roman Catholic church
In 1814 Roman Catholic community of Kyiv decided to built a church and name it after Oleksandr (in honor of Russian emperor Oleksandr I). Money for the construction was gathered by Polish families. Author of the design was Saint-Petersburg architect D. Vikonti. In 1817 formal laying took place. The construction of the sacred place lasted for a long time and was completed in 1842. Architect F.l. Maekhovych was one who completed the construction.
Saint Sophia Cathedral
According to the annalistic evidences, Saint Sophia Cathedral was built in 1037 by Yaroslav the Wise in honor of the victory over Pechenegs in the place, where the battle took place. “Sophia” in terms of Greek means “great wis dom of God”. Here prince Yaroslav founded the first library and school in Rus. The cathedral was a place for writing the annals, copying and translation of books, ceremonies of crowning of princes. Saint Sophia cathedral was also a burial vault for princes, where such princes as Yaroslav and his son Vsevolod, and prince Voldymyr Monomakh were buried.
Saint Sophia Cathedral has been registered in the list of the World heritage of”UNESCO”.
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra is one of the most famous monuments in Kyiv. It was founded in 1051 by two monks – Antonius and Theodosius, in the caves near summer residence of princes called Berestove near the city of Kyiv. The first hegumen of the monastery was reverend Varlaam Pecherskyj, a for-mer boyar. In 1058, after receiving the blessing of reverend Antonius, reverend Varlaam built a wooden church over the cave in honor of the Assumption of the Virgin.
In XI century the monastery became the centre of extension and consolidation of Christianity in Kievan Rus. In XII century the monastery earned the status of Lavra —the main large monastery.
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra has been registered in the list of the World heritage of “UNESCO”.
Theatres of Kyiv
Ukrainian National Academic Drama Theatre named after Ivan Franko, 31. Franko Square.
Ukrainian National Academic Drama Theatre named after Ivan Franko was established in 1920 in Vinnytsia on the basis of new Lviv theatre and Kyiv “young theatre”. The structure was built under the design of G. Shleifer, E. Bratman for the theatre of Solovyov.
The theatre became national by the decree of the President of Ukraine from 11 October 1994. It is named National Academic Drama Theatre named after Ivan Franko since then.
National Academic Russian Drama Theatre named after L. Ukrainka
Russian Drama Theatre named after Lesya Ukrainka was founded more than 130 years ago. French businessman Ogust Bergonie bought the land in the corner of present Bohdan Khmelnytsky and Pyshkinska Street in 1866.
First he built temporary wooden house here, where circus shows took place.
And the stone building, where the performances of the theatre-circus “Alkazar” started, was built under the design of the architect V.M. Nikolaev in 1875. The theatre, built in 1878, was disposed on the first floor close by; there was hotel “Lion” on the second floor in two-storied building.
The building was rebuilt in drama theatre in 1883.
National Academic Theatre of Opera and ballet named after T.G. Shevchenko
A new Theatre of Opera and Ballet was built on its place in 1901. The building was made in the style of French Renaissance; it was designed by the academician of architecture V. O. Shreter.
The theatre has the name National Opera of Ukraine from 1991.
National Music Academy of Ukraine named after P.I. Chaikovsky
Kyiv conservatoire was founded on the basis of music school of Kyiv department of Russian music society in 1913. The organization of the establishment was assisted by the musicians: Sergiy Rahmaninov, Oleksandr Glazunov, and Petro Chaikovsky. The first directors were Volodymyr Pyhalsky (1913) and Reinhold Glier (1914-1920).
The building was raised for the hotel (“Continental”) (the architects were E. Bradtman, V. Gorodetsky, Shitfer) in 1895- 1897. Postwar reconstruction was accomplished in 1951 – 1959.The concert hall was completed during the reconstruction (architects were Lev Katok and Y. Krasny). It is situated in 1/3 Gorodetskogo Street, near Maydan Nezalezhnosti.
National Philharmonic named after M. Lysenko
National Philharmonic started the concert seasons from 1863, when Kyiv Department of Imperial Russian Society of Music (IRSM) was founded.
The Board of Elders of Kyiv Merchant meeting got the permission of Kyiv city Duma to build the stone construction for their dub in 1881.
The famous Kyiv architect Volodymyr Mykolayovych Nikolaev, who was Kyiv municipal and eparchial architect, accomplished the project and watched for the construction. Two-storied building of the Merchant meeting was built for one building season in 1881 Kyiv state philharmonic was placed there in 1934.
The national status was given to the music establishment by the decree of the President of Ukraine in October 1994.
Kyiv Municipal Theatre of Opera and Ballet for the Youth
Kyiv Municipal Academic Theatre of Opera and Ballet for the Youth was opened as State Children’s Music Theatre in 1985. The theatre became the first (and now the only one) in Ukraine and the second one of the similar type in the world.
The theatre got its own apartment in Mezhygirska Street (Podil) and got the name Kyiv State Musical Theatre for the youth in 1998.
It has its present name from 2005.
Kyiv State Theatre of Operetta
The theatre was organized in 1934. It was called Kyiv theatre of music comedy at that time. It was renamed to Kyiv state theatre of operetta in 1966. The theatre was situated in the building of the former Trinity national house. The building was built at the beginning of XX century at the charitable costs. The concerts were held and the performance-vaudevilles were staged in the national house. The first of them was held on 2 December 1902.
Saint Mykola church
Saint Mykola church is one of two Roman Catholic churches, built in Kyiv. It was built in the gothic style in 1899—1909. It was built under the competitive project of the architect S. Volovky by the architect V. Gorodetsky, who remade the project and administered the reconstruction.
It is used as Republican house of organ and chamber music from 1979.
National Palace “Ukraina”
It was built by the architect E. Marynchenko P. Zhylytsky in 1970. White am pink marble, wood were used in the Palace design. The Palace has diversified area. The grand meetings, concerts took place there.
Kyiv Academic Puppet Theatre
Puppet theatre (the first similar one in Ukraine) was founded in Kyiv on 27 October 1927 as a branch office of the theatre of young spectator on the initiative of people’s artist of Ukraine O.I. Solomarsky and S.Deeva.
The new apartments of the theatre were baa in 2004.
An outstanding artist Mykhailo Vrubel at Kyiv
A house at 14 Desyatynna Street, in which M. Vrubel resided
Facade of the building, in which Vrubel resided, and on which memorial plate in honor of the prominent artist was placed.
Saint Volodymyr’s Cathedral
The cathedral was built in pseudo-asian style; initial design was created by architect I.V. Shtorm and P.l. Sparro, later it was altered by architect O.V. Batfti. Architects J. Berngard, K.Y. Maevskij, V.M. Nikolaev took part in the construction of this cathedral.
Interior wall paintings, performed by the Russian artist M.O. Vrubel in 1885-1896 (ornaments on the inner walls and arches of two cathedral naves), are of substantial artistic value.
Kyiv museum of Russian art
Kyiv museum of Russian art was opened on November 12, 1922, and initially was Kyiv art gallery.
Museum collection includes the painting by M. Vrubel called “A girl against the carpet”.
Saint Cyril’s Church
Saint Kirill Church is a national significant monument of architectural monumental art. It was preserved as a part of Saint Cyril’s Monastery, founded in honor of Kirill of Alexandria in the stow of Dorogozhychi in 1139 by Vsevolod Olgovich. In about 1150 his wife – Princess Mariya Mstyslavivna – has completed the construction of Saint Church, which later became a burial vault for Oleg’s family. In Svyatoslav Vsevolodovych – one of the heroes of the Lay of Igor are – was buried there.
Portraits of apostles show the whole complexity of human feelings i deep psychological characteristics. In addition, Vrubel performed painting called “Angels with labardan” half-statue of Jesus Christ, heads of prophets – Moses and Salomon. A fresco called “Graveside lamentations” is placed in the niche of narthex. There are also some other icons by Vrubel: “Athanasius”, “The Mother of God”, “Christ” and “Kirill”. Those works are notable of their picturesqueness, deep realism and high artistic skill.
National Literature Museum of Ukraine
National Literature Museum of Ukrainian was founded in 1981 and opened for visitors in 1986. Since 1999 it has received the status of national. It is located in downtown of Kyiv at the corner of B. Khmelnitsky Street and Tereshenkivska Street in a building that is considered as architectural monument of XIX century. This building is also known as former main corps of Pavlo Galagan Collegium that was erected in 1871 by famous architect O.Y. Bille in a manner of late classicism.
Collegium library is adornment of the museum and memorial room that is maintained and opened for viewing. There are more than 5 thousand exhibits in the museum exposition, among which we can find incunabula, manuscripts, memorial objects, photos and works of art.
National Museum of T.G. Shevchenko
The house and museum was opened in 1928. Taras Grygorovych Shevcenko lived and worked in this building.
Every year about 10 000 people visit this museum.
Sholom Aleihem Museum
History of Jewish people is indissolubly connected with the history of Kyiv. That is why Museum of Kyiv History on the eve of 150-anniversary of Sholom-Alleihem’s birthday established a branch dedicated to life and creative work of a great writer, dramatist and enlightener named Sholom-Aleihem.
Personal things, documents, photos, books will get acquainted you not only with life and creative work of the writer but will tell you about the life of Jewish community of the city at the beginning of last century.
Taras Shevchenko Kyiv National University
In summer 1834 Kyiv University welcomed its first 62 students. There was only one faculty and it was faculty of Philosophy with two sections – History and Philology section and Physics and Mathematics section. In 1835 Faculty of Law was opened and in 1847 time of medical faculty came. Later on Philosophy faculty split into two independent faculties. The university has been working with such structure up to 1917.
During 1920-1932 on the University basis the following institutes were functioning: Dragomanov Institute of Popular Education (till 1930), Institute of Social Education, Institute of Professional Education, Institute of Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics In 1933 the university was renewed consisting of 7 faculties. In 1939 the institution was named after T. G. Shevchenko.
Monument to Sholom Aleihem
In 1997 the monument to a prominent writer was opened in Kyiv.
Monument to Mykhailo Grushevskyi
Mykhailo Grushevskyi (1866-1934) is Ukrainian historian, politic figure and publicist, head of Tsentralna Rada (Central Board) (1917—1918), academician, author of more than 2000 scientific works.
Monument to Mykhailo Grushevskyi was established in 1998. Sculptor is V. Chepelyk, architect of the monument M. Kyslyi. The monument is I Mated on 59 Volodymyrska Street.
Monument to Taras Shevchenko
Monument to Taras Shevchenko was established in 1939, dedicated to the 125 anniversary of poet’s birthday. It is one of the symbols of modern Kyiv.
Museum of prominent workers of Ukrainian culture: L. Ukrayinka, M. Lysenko, P. Saksaganskyi, M. Starytskyi
Museum was established n 1987. Museum exposition acquaints us with biographical data and creative course of life as well as with literary and art masterpieces of Lesya Ukrayinka, M. Lysenko, M. Starytskyi.
House and Museum of Bulgakov
Museum of Bulgakov is located in building #13 on Andriivsky Uzviz. Literary and memorial house and museum of Mykhail Bulgakov was erected in February 1989.
Kyiv Literary and Memorial Museum of Maxym Rylskyi
The museum was established on May 4, 1966. It received its first visitors in summer 1968.
The museum was created with participation of poet’s sons Bogdan and Georgiy, academician O.Y. Deych, poets M.Tyhonov, O.Tvardovskyi, M. Isakovskyi and famous opera singer I.Kozlovskyi.
Monument to Grygoryi Skovoroda
Monument to Grygoryi Skovoroda was erected on March 1, 1977, designed by prominent sculptor Ivan Kavaleridze. It is located on Kontraktova ploshcha.
Primitive art of Kyiv region
Local museum “Spiritual treasures of Ukraine”
Local museum “Spiritual treasures of Ukraine” is a private museum in Kyiv, founded by Kyiv cardiologist Ihor Ponamarchuk.
There are about 300 icons of XV-XX century and masterpieces of Ukrainian national artist Mariya Pryjmachenko are represented in the exhibition. Another ha is a place for picture and sculpture galleries of the modern artists.
Museum of Ukrainian national decorative art
Museum exposition is represented by collected works of national artists of Ukraine – Mariya Pryjmachenko, Kateryna Bilokur and other masters of Kyiv, Dnipropetrovsk region and Podillya.
“Museum of Ivan Gonchar”. Ukrainian centre of national culture
Museum of Ivan Gonchar is a state all-Ukrainian specialized scientific-research cultural-educational institution. Collection of the museum numbers over 15 thousand ethnographical and artistic articles, among which one can find a unique collection of Easter eggs – pysanka (500 items), wooden carved objects, products made of steel and glass, valuable collection of national musical instruments.
Khresto-Vozd vyzhenska church
The wooden temple of the same name was erected on this place at the cost of the inhabitants of the hole Kozhumyaku in 1748, The wooden temple burned out at the fire in 1811. This year the stone warm temple was laid in the name of Archangel Michael. The building of the upper temple was started in 1823 and it was consecrated in honor of the Exaltation of Holy and Vivifying Cross in 1841.
Mykola Naberezhny church
Firstly it was remembered in August of 16 century. Brick church of nowadays was built on the place of old wooden one under the project of Kyiv architect, graduate of KMA I. Grygorovych-Barsky in 1772-75. The church in the village Lemeshi in Chernihivska oblast was the model for building this church. It was built at the cost of lady-in-waiting N. D. Rozumovska above the grave of her husband Grygoriy Rozum. He was the Cossack from Lemeshi.
Kyiv church of the Saint Prophet Illya (Elijah) was the first one from Christian temples of Rus, which are known from the written Sources. It existed almost half century before the christening of Rus by Saint Volodymyr. The residents of Kyiv built new brick Svyato-lllinska church on the place of the ancient temple in 1692.
Kyiv Municipal Academic Theatre of Opera and Ballet for the Youth
The theatre became the first (and now the only one) in Ukraine and the second one of the similar type in the world.
The theatre got its own apartment in Mezhygirska Street (Podil) and got the name Kyiv State Musi-cal Theatre for the youth in 1998. The garden achieved the status of academic in 2002. It has its present name from 2005.
Kontraktovy house The Kontraktovy house, a historical trade house in Kontraktova Square in Podil in Kyiv, built in 1815-1817.
The name of the building is connected with the contracts, i.e. trade contracts, which were conclud-ed in its room.
Kyiv kontraktovy fair worked to Zhovtnevy upheaval in 1917. M.V. Gogol, T.G. Shevchenko, Honors de Balzac, Adam Mickiewicz and other prominent people were on the contracts and in Kontraktovy house accordingly till this time. Moreover, there was a concert hall on the second floor of Kontraktovy house.
The povarnya with cells of Bratsky monastery
Povarnya with cells of Bratsky monastery is a monument of architecture of 1652 -1826. (2 Grygoriya Skovorody Street).
The monument of G.S. Skovoroda
The monument of G.S. Skovoroda is in the public garden between Gostynny dvir and Kontraktovy house.
The monument was opened in the public garden in Kontraktova Square across the house of the former Kyiv Academy in 1976. Bronze statue of G.S. Skovoroda (the height is 5.4 m) was installed on the low pedestal of black granite. The sculpture is I.P. Kavaleridze, the architect is V.G. Gnezdilov.
Kyiv-Mohylyanska academy was the only higher comprehensive educational institution of all classes of Ukraine, Eastern Europe, all orthodox world for a long time. The Academy didn’t only start to study the youth, but it also expanded the education, knowledge, its pupils opened the schools, founded the libraries, favored the development of the culture, art, literature, music, theatre.
Mykola Prytysk church
Mykola Prytysk church is a monument of architecture of 1707 (at the corner of Khoryva and Prytysko- Mykilska Street).
It is the Saint Mykola Prytysk church, Ukrainian Orthodox Church, Kyiv patriarchate.
The church was erected in 1707 (according to another data – in the end of XVII century) at the cost of Kyiv lower middle class Petro on the place of the wooden church of the same name of the middle of XVI century. According to one of the versions the name came from the wooden Mykola churd (Mykola on the “prytytsya”), which was earlier at «prytyka» – moorage on Dnipro. According to another legend, the name came into being because Mykola put pressure upon the villain in the church. He tried to rob the temple. Mykola Prytysk church is cross-shaped building in the plan in the style of Ukrainian baroque.
Florovsky (Frolovsky) monastery is a monument of architecture of 1740-1821.
The monastery (female) is famous from XV century. It was united with Voznesensky monastery, which was removed from Pechersk in the connection of the reconstruction of Old Pechersk fortress in 1710. The architect I. Melensky managei the renovation of Florovsky monastery after the fire in 1811.
The fountain “Samson”
The fountain “Samson” (or “Lev” (Lion)) is a monument of architecture and hydrotechnical art of 1748-1749.
It was erected by the architect I.G. Grygorovych-Barsky in Kontraktos Square. It was the central part of the first water pipe in Kyiv. It is the arched round pavilion in the plan, which had the name “Felitsyan”. It is overlapped in the cupola in the style of baroque with cooper gilded statue of Apostle Andrew above. The lecturer of Kyiv academy installed the sundials on the pediments in 80s of XVIII century. The wooden sculptural composition “Samson is tearing up the lion’s mouth” was installed in the middle of the pavilion at the beginning of XIX century. Many legends are connected with the fountain (especially it was believed that he, who drinks water “from lion”, will stay to live Kyiv). The pavilion, destroyed by the communists in 1934, was renovated under the initial project (the author is architect V.P. Shevchenko) in 1982.
The Assumption of Bogorodytsya Pyrogoscha church
The church ofthe assumption of Bogorodytsya Pyrogoscha was built in 1132-35. It was destroyed in 1935 and renovated at the cost of the city Kyiv in 1998. Today it is the temple of the assumption of the Most Holy Mother of God (Pyrogoscha) of Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Kyiv patriarchate.
Gostynny dvir is a monument of architecture of 1809-1828. It is situated in the middle of Kontraktova Square in Podil. It was built instead of old Gostynny dvir (60s of XVIII century, the architect is I.G. Grygorovych-Barsky) in 1809 (the architect is A.I. Ruska). It was designed in the style of classicism. Only first floor was built then. The fire in 1811 and the war in 1812 prevented Kyiv magistrate from finishing the construction. There were more than 50 shops, grouped in the lines – railway, silk, cloth, fur shops etc. in Gostvnny dvir. The architect A.I. Melensky renovated and partly reconstructed Gostynny dvir, damaged by the fire in 1828. The restoration of Gostynny dvir was conducted according to the initial project in the beginning of 80s of XX century. The restoration project was planned by the architect V.P. Shevchenko.
The buildings of the former Saint Catherine Greek monastery
It is Greek monastery (Katerynynsky monastery). It was founded by Greek d nists in 1748. It was situated in tire area of present Kontraktova Square in PodJ stone church was built in the style of baroque on the territory of Greek monaskd 1739 -1741. It was renamed to Saint Catherine monastery in 1748. The dwefl buildings and the belfry (the architect is I.G. Grygorovych-Barsky) were erectcdi the territory ofthe monastery in the second part of XVIII century. The new belfry* erected in the style of classicism (by the project ofthe architect L. Eisner) in 1915.
Monument to Hetman Petro Konashevych Sagaydachny
The monument to hetman Petro Konashevych Sagaidachny was opewfl May 2001 (Kontraktova Square). The architects were M.L. Zharikov and P.l. H renko. The sculptor was V.V. Shvetsov with the assistance of such sculptors ad Kuntsevych, B. Krylov, O. Sydotuk and the architect Y.G. Losytsky.
The dwelling house – the monument of architecture of the end of XVIII – beginning of XX century
The dwelling house is the monument of architecture of the end of XVIIIthe beginning of XX century. It is on the crossing of Pokrovska Street and 12 Kontraktova Square.
The house of Suhota Nazariy was erected for Kyiv enterpriser and merchant Nazariy Suhota, who kept the shop and austeriya (restaurant), and horse mall under the country-seat, in 1804. The magistrate was moved to this building after the disastrous fire in Podil in 1811. And the ancient emblem of Kyiv embellished one of the porticos of the house. There was the first City Council here after the cancelation of Magdeburg law in Kyiv. The third floor was built upon in 1878 (architect is A. N. Kazansky), and the third gymnasium was moved here. The labor school #20 was opened in the building in 1920. Some time later it was reorganized on the secondary school.
The memorial plaque to hetman Petro Konashevych Sagaidachny
Hetman of Ukraine Petro Konashevych Sagaidachny (1570 – 1633) is an outstanding politician, Cossak’s commander, one of the founders of Kyiv brotherhood.
The old (first) contract house
The old (first) contract house is a monument of architecture of 1800. (4 Pokrovska Street).
It was erected under the project of the architect A. Eldezin in 1800 01. At first it was two-storied building. The second floor was wooden. The judicial hearings, concerts, masquerades and banquets took place in the halls of Kontraktovy House, except the contracts. The first wooden floor burned out during the fire in 1811. The building was renovated in the style of classicism by the project of the architect A.I. Melensky in 1819. Kyiv handicraft board of magistrate shops was placed in it to 1835. The building was transferred to the City Council after the cancellation of Magdeburg law in Kyiv and its self-government. Podil women’s gymnasium (the composer K.G. Stetsenko taught in it in 1904 -1907) was there from 1871.
S.I. Strelbytsky house
S.I. Strelbytsky house is monument of architecture, erected in the style of classicism in 1808 (5 Pokrovska Street).
It belonged to the worker of magistrate and the famous goldsmith Samson Ivanovych Strelbytsky. He was nicknamed as “diamond man” because he was the outstanding master of art diamond products, which became the pride of the treasure of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra. Only potyr and big silver dish are loll from the goods of S.I. Strelbytsky.
Pokrovska church is the monument of architecture of XVIII century. (7/3 Pokrovska Street).
Pokrovska church was erected by the project of the architect Grygorovych-Barsky in the style of Ukrainian baroque in 1766. The fire in 1811 and later reconstructions changed the original look of Pokrovska church. Iconostasis of the church was executed by the architect I.V. Shtrom in the middle of XIX century, Pokrovska church was restored in 1981 – 1982.
Andriivska church was built to order of the empress Elyzaveta Petrivna. The project of the building was drawn up by B. Rastrelli in 1748, the construction works were in 1749-1754 under the guidance of the famous Moscow architect Ivan Michurin.
Andriivska church is one of the brightest buildings of the baroque style, which are spread in domestic architecture and art at the end of XVII – in the middle of XVIII century.
The painting of Andriivska church of the middle of XVIII century such as icons of the iconostasis, platform painting, the pictures in the bathhouse, painted in oils on the canvas, provoke the great interest. The painter I. Vyshnyakov and his disciples painted the most part of the icons in St. Petersburg. Ukrainian painters 1. Romesky and I. Chaikovsky created the painting on the reverse side of the iconostasis. The works of the talented Russian painter Oleksiy Antropov are of the greatest value. They are painting of the platform, bathhouse, and big picture “The Last Supper’ in the altar, part of the icons in the iconostasis. His signature is left on the icon “the Assumption of the Mother of God”.
Andriivska church is considered one of the masterpieces of domestic architecture of XVIII century because of its expressiveness, boldness, originality of its conception.
History of one street (downwards Andriivskyj Uzviz)
Saint Andrew’s church
Saint Andrew’s church was built by the order of Empress Elizaveta Petrivna. Design of the building was developed by B. Rastrelli in 1748, construction works continued during 1749-1754 under the guidance of the famous Moscow architect Ivan Michurin.
Saint Andrew’s church is one of the most splendid buildings in the baroque style, which was a widespread in the national architecture and art at the end of XVII-XVIII century.
Sculpture of characters of the movie “After two hares» («Za dvoma zajtsyamy»)
Pronya Prokopivna and Svyryd Holokhvastov. Monument, made by Volodymyr Schur and Vitalij Syvko to the characters of the movie «After two hares». It was installed in Kyiv in 1999 not far from Saint Andrew’s church. It has fundamentally fit in the old street of Kyiv. Sculpture of Pronya Prokopivna and Svyryd Petro- vych has became inalienable attribute of “Kievan Montmartre” – Anriivskyj Uzviz (Saint Andrew’s slope).
Observation site on Zamkova Hora (Castle Hill) and on the hill of Uzdykhalnytsa)
One can access two observation sites from Andriivskyj Uzviz. One of them is situated on Zamkova Hora, another – on the hill of Uzdykhalnytsa near the building, constructed in the form of a castle. People call it”(astle of Richard thetibn-Hearted”.
Museum-workshop of I. Kavaleridze
Ivan Kavaleridze is an artist, sculptor and film director. Museum-workshop of Ivan Kavaleridze was founded in 1993. In 1911 he made the monument to Princess Olga in this building. 5000 exhibits, dedicated to the life and work of the artist, are contained here.
House of Turbiny – literary-memorial museum of Bulgakov
Literary-memorial museum of Michail Bulgakov was founded in February 1989. Museum is situated in the house No. 13 on Andriivskyj Uzviz. First floor of the house – 7 rooms – is occupied by the main exposition “House of Turbiny”; ground floor includes two exhibition halls and Literature room.
It is situated on 10-a Andriivskyj Uzviz. Tel. (044) 416-40-93,416-12-98.
Museum of one street
Museum of one street is situated on Andriivskyj Uzviz and dedicated to its history.
Museum was opened in 1991 by creative association “Master”.
Two halls of permanent exposition contain hundreds of genuine ancient articles – books, paintings, furniture and clothing, photos and documents, which tell about historical events, connected with Andriivskyj Uzviz and its famous inhabitants.
It is situated on 2b Andriivskyj Uzviz. Tel. (044)238-2446, 416-0320.
City on Dnipro-river (observation site)
Truhaniv island. Riverside station
According to one of the versions, the name of Truhaniv island came from the Polovets khan Tugorkan. In the end of XI century there was a summer residence of his daughter, who was the wife of Kievan prince Svyatopolk Izyaslavovich. And before that, in the times of Kievan Rus, there was a settlement called Olzhychi, owned by Princess Olga, on Truhaniv island. From the beginning of XVI century the island became a subject of constant controversies between Pustynno-Mikolskyj monastery and Kyiv magistrate. In 1534 Kievan voyevoda Andrij Nymyrych granted it to the above mentioned monastery, and fisheries on the river Chertoryj in addition. But hundred years later the island returned to the city. After construction of a steam mill and ship repairing workshops on its territory in 1856 there appeared a suburbcalledTruhaniv island. In 1920-1930 there lived aboul 4 thouwtd people, a church was constructed, and there was about 20 streets and llleyt, In 1943 the suburb was burned to the ground by Germans during the defence of Kyiv.
Monument to prince Volodymyr
The monument was set up in the memory of prince Volodymyr – the great prince of Kievan Rus Volodymyr Svyatoslavovych (950-1015), Authors – sculptor V. Demut-Malynovskyj and P. Claudt, architecture Ton. Bronze statue of the prince was cast in mould In 1853 In Saint-Petersburg, cast-iron slabs of the pedestal were produced in 1851 on the Luchnenskyj plant in Kaluga district on the money of merchant Novikov. Opening of the monument was on September 30, 1859.
Electric cable road was constructed and opened in 1905 (engineer M. Pyatnytskyj, M. Baryshnikov). Heading the road, during 2.5-3 minutes you can observe wonderful sceneries of Dnipro hills.
Monument to Baptism of Rus with column to Magdeburg law
Monument to Baptism of Rus with column to Magdeburg law is the first monument, built in Kyiv. It is situated near the foot of the Volodymyr hill in the deep gorge not far from the Dnipro embarkment, on the lower staircase terrace, which connects Volodymyrskyj slope with Quay highway. The first monument in Kyiv, which was called Khreshatytskyj or monument to Saint Volodymyr, was built on the money of Kyiv magistrate and prosperous townsmen on the occasion of confirmation of Magdeburg law by Kyiv tsar administration. It was constructed in 1802- 1808 upon the design of architect A. Melenskyj.
According to the chronicle, here, in Khreshatytske source, sons of the great Kievan prince Volodymyr were baptized. From the ancient times there was a spring with little wooden chapel over it, which was owned by the Nativity church. After the construction of the monument to prince Volodymyr on the terrace of the Volodymyr hill (1853) this monument was called the lower Saint Volodymyr monument, and then – Magdeburg law monument.
People’s friendship arch
People’s friendship arch is a sculpture composition in Kyiv on the territory of Khreshatyj park in honor of unification of Russia and Ukraine. The composition appeared in 1982 during the preparation for celebration of 1500th anniversary of Kyiv, and substituted the Summer stage.
The central place in the composition was left for the monument to People’s friendship, devoted to the unification of Ukraine and Russia (sculptor O.P. Skoblikov, I.N. Ivanov, S.M. Myrgorodskyj and K.A. Sidorov), made of metal, granite and bronze, and which is a two-statue composition (height – 6.2 m) of workers – the Russian and the Ukrainian, who hold a ribbon with “People’s friendship” order.
Kyiv Hydropark is a favorite resort of many people. General area of the park is 365 hectares. In summer Hydropark can hold up to 75 thousand people.
There is a park called “Kyiv in miniature” opened on June 26, 2006, with area of 1.8 ha, where 48 miniatures in the scale of 1:33 are installed.
Stow of Rusanivka on the left bank of Dnipro river opposite to Kyiv is famous from ancient times as lands of Kievan monasteries. Some historians suggest that it was named after Sava Rusanovych, who owned neighboring lands in XVI century. From the following centuries we know the village of Rusaniv, lake of Rusaniv, gulf and arm of Rusaniv. In 1906 double-span steel bridge, later blown in 1941, over the gulf of Rusaniv was constructed for the mototram track to Brovary.
There was a deposited island with the height of 3-5 meters above water level on the brink of the gulf of Rusaniv. The island was separated from the left bank by artificial running bypass canal with the length of 2.7 thousand meters, depth of 3-4 meters and width of 40 meters. 15 fountains with additional illumination were installed in southern part of the canal. Three road and foot bridges were erected over the canal.
Subway bridge is one of the bridges over the Dnipro river. It was opened on November 5, 1965. Double-deck construction for underground trains (in the middle of upper deck) and vehicles (from the sides of lower deck). It was constructed on the place of the former chain bridge, destroyed during the World War II. Subway bridge is the first, according to the dimensions of spans, arch construction on dry butts. Console is made up of separate reinforced concrete blocks, connected with steel bolts. Width of the span between supports is 60 m. Length – 700 meters.
Ensemble of Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra is partially used as monastery and residence of Kyiv metropolitan of Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Moscow Patriarchate.
It was founded in 1501 by monks Anthonius and Theodosius in the caves near the summer prince residence Berestovo near Kyiv.
In XI century the monastery became the centre of extension and consolidation of Christianity in Kievan Rus. In XX century the monastery earned the status of “lavra”- the main large monastery.
Paton Bridge is one of the bridges over the Dnipro River. It was built in 1953 (access for traffic was given on November 5, 1953). It is the first all-welded bridge | with the length of 1543 meters in the world.
Academician Evgen Paton, after whom this construction was named, took an active part in designing and building of the bridge.
Monument called Motherland (Vitchyzna-maty)
The dominant part of Memorial complex of the National museum of history of the World War 11941-1945 is an area of the museum, on which, like on pedestal, a statue called Motherland (Vitchyzna-maty) with the height of] 62 m was installed. General height of the construction is 108 m. Weight of the monument is 530 tones. The statue holds a sword with the length of 16 m in the right hand, and a shield with coat of arms of USSR – in the left hand.
Ensemble of Vydubytskyj monastery
Vydubetskyj monastery was founded in the second j half of XI century by Vsevolod -son of prince Yaroslav. Modern ensemble of Vydubytskyj monastery was formed at the end of XVII – beginning of XVIII century.
Centre of composition of the monastery is occupied by the Saint George’s ca-thedral. There is also Saint Michael’s church, built in 1070- J 1088 and renewed in 1766-1769 by architect M. Yurasov, on the territory of the monastery.
At the beginning of XII century the monastery became a centre of chronicle writing. In 1116 hegumen Silvestre completed the second edition of the well known “Tale of Bygone Years” here. Hegumeh Andrian was an author of numerous articles at the end of XII century. Prince Volodymyr Monomah collected large library in the family monastery.
Museum of national architecture and life of Ukraine National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (village of Pyrogiv)
Museum of national architecture and life of Ukraine is a museum in the open air, architectural and landscape complex of all historical and ethnographical regions of Ukraine. It is situated in the south suburb of Kyiv in Holosiivskyj region near the village of Pyrogiv. Its total area is 133.5 ha.
It was founded on February 6, 1969. There are 275 architectural exhibits of national art of construction of XVI-XX centuries on the territory of the museum.
Funds of the museum hold over 70 thousand household articles, national art works, and instruments of labor. The most interesting exhibits are the part of buildings interiors.
Museum contains great variety of national clothing, furniture, wooden dishes and earthenware, men’s and women’s wear, and the best collection of nations al musical instruments.
Middle Dnipro region
Middle Dnipro region includes territories of south Kyiv and Cherkasy region. This region was a home for framed and log huts mainly. Straw, cane, wickers and sometimes stone were used as building materials.
There are also two churches represented in exposition among other buildings – Church of Martyr Paraskeva, Saint Aristarch Michael’s church and remains of ritual oak.
Saint Aristarch Michael’s church
The church was transported to the museum from the village of Dorogynka of Fastiv region of Kyiv oblast in 1971. It has extremely ancient features in its exterior. As for the age of the church there exist several suggestions. 1600, 1700 and 1751 – such dated of its construction one can find in various sources (Ukrainian, Russian, and Polish). Church is operating from March 10, 1990 and belongs to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Kyiv Patriarchate.
Saint Martyr Paraskeva’s church
Saint Martyr Paraskeva’s church, or Pyatnytska church, is a work of national masters of the baroque era. Height of the church is about 25 meters, and it was made of heavy “steel” oak, into which one can’t hammer a nail.
The church was transferred to the museum from the village of Zarubyntsi of Monastyryschenskyj region of Cherkasy oblast at the beginning of 70’s of XX century.
The oak was found in 1975 during construction works in the mouth of Desna-river. This unique finding was examined by Institute of archaeology. 9 jaws of wild boars were set into ramifications of the trunk. Cult of the supreme God Perun often has been identified with trees and strong forest animals (bears, wild boars and aurochs). Such cult trees were standing on crossroads of trade routes and on river banks.
Poltava and Sloboda region (Poltavshyna and Slobozhanshyna)
Huts in Poltava and Sloboda regions were logged or blocked. Mud-walled and pise-walled huts with three-chamber dwellings were widespread. Premises were notable for special elegance with large number of decorative adornments.
National dwelling of Polissya region has preserved ancient Slavic style the most – single-chamber premise with pantry with cage, which operated as auxiliary utility extensions.
Framed straw-clayed dwelling were common for the region of Podillya. Ling singe walls of huts were constructed of fishing line and hornbeam brushwood, spread with clay, or mixed with chaff.
Region of Carpathians is characterized by the greatest variety of constructional and artistic features. Boikivshyna is famous for real masterpieces of national architecture of highlanders. High and steep roofs, artistically decorated galleries. Houses have been erected of fir and silver fir.
South region of Ukraine
Prevailing construction materials in South region of Ukraine were stone and day together with limestone and shell rock, because of poor forest culture. Dwellings have mainly reminded the half-dugouts. According to some historical sources, they have been constructed by representatives of poor Cossacks of XVI-XVII centuries. Such huts have had quite nice artistic adornment: walls were covered with sky-blue tones; decorative coloring was also present on corners, under roofs and around windows.
This sector of the museum is situated in its east part. Here one can find country houses with interiors of 60-70’s of XX centuries from all regions of Ukraine and Autonomous Republic of Crimea.
Towards the town of museums – Pereyaslav-Khmelnitskij
National historical and ethnographical reserve «Pereyaslav”
One ofthe largest reserve in Ukraine. Area of reserve is 3050 ha. The reserve includes the area of town of Pereyaslav-Khmelnitskij, its suburbs, and areas of Pereyaslav-Khmelnitskij region, around which there are buffer zones.
It contains 371 still Ukrainian historical and architectural monuments, 26 thematic museums of various profiles: historical, archaeological, literary, ethnographical, technical.
Pereyaslav-Khmelnitskij. Museums: historical, Ukrainian national clothing of Middle Dnieper region, memorial museum of G.S. Skovoroda, the art of itinerant playing on kobza, archaeological, muse- um-diorama «Battle for Dnipro near Pereyaslav-Khmelnitskij in spring 1943», sculpture and portrait gallery of Heroes of the Great Patriotic war, picture gallery
Museum is situated in the premises – architectural monument of 1820, – the house of A.I. Kozachkovskij, a friend of T.G. Shevchenko. 12 rooms of the museum contain the history of Pereyaslav region from XVI century until nowadays.
Museum of Ukrainian national clothing of the Middle Dnipro region
There is a unique facility in the centre of ancient Pereyaslav – St. Michael’s church (1946), which was built by colonel F. Leveda from Pereyaslav in the style of Ukrainian baroque, on the foundation of St. Michael’s cathedral (1089). In 1959 museum of Ukrainian national clothing of the Middle Dnipro region of XIX-XX century was opened in the cathedral, and also the collection of Poltava and Kyiv carpets was presented there too.
Memorial museum of Grygorij Skovoroda
The house of the former college – architectural monument of XVIII century, built in the style of Ulcrai-. nian baroque, – is situated near the grand Voznesenska cathedral (1695-1700). Here, in 1753, an outstanding Ukrainian philosopher and humanist, enlightener and poet Grygorij Skovoroda gave lectures on poetics. Furniture of lobby and library of the college, and poetry room is recreated as original appearance.
Museum of art of itinerant playing on kobza The museum of art of itinerant playing on kobza, thafcvyas opened during the celebration of 175-anniversary from the birth of the great Ukrainian itinerant player on kobza Taras Shevchenko in 1984, is situated in the centre of the town, in the house, built in 1903. Exposition of the museum includes portraits of great Ukrainian itinerant players on kobza, musical instruments (XI-XVIII centuries), books and household objects.
Exhibition hall was constructed on the foundation of Spasska burial vault of X century. Exposition includes unique objects, found during excavations.
Museum-diorama “Battle for Dnipro near Pereyaslav-Khmelnitskij in spring 1943”
Museum-diorama is situated in the centre of the town in the building of Voznesenska church (1695-1700). Museum was opened in 1975 in honor of the 30th anniversary of victory in the Great Patriotic war.
Sculpture and portrait gallery of Heroes of the Great Patriotic war In the outskirts of the town, in cozy public garden on the square of 40th anniversary of the Victory an airplane TU-114 is placed. One more museum of our reserve was opened inside this airlane in 1985 – sculpture and portrait gallery of Heroes of the Great Patriotic war.
Six rooms of the exhibition hall contain 168 art works of the famous Ukrainian artists and sculptures.
Museum of national architecture and life of the Middle Dnipro region
Territory of 30 hectares contains 185 objects, from which 104 – monuments of national architecture XVII-XIX centuries, including 20 thousand works of national art labor instruments, household items, collected in the forest-steppe zone of Ukraine.
Museum of Ukrainian rituals and customs
Exposition is made up of four rooms, which tell about the traditions, customs and rituals from the ancient time to nowadays.
Museum of history of Ukrainian Orthodox Church
Museum of history of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church Is situated on the territory of the museum of national architecture and life in the unique monument of wood art (Sukhoyar church), built in 1775 and transported to the reserve from the village of Sukhij Yar of the Stavyschcnsklj region of Kyiv oblast.
Museum of Ukrainian towel (rushnyk)
Exposition of the museum of Ukrainian rushnyk was created on the territory of the museum “In the open air” in the unique monument of art of building of XVII century (1651), Transported to us from the village of Pyschyky of Skvyr region of Kyiv oblast; the museum was opened In 1995. It contains 300 Ukrainian towels from various regions (Kyiv, Poltava, Chernigiv, Cherkasy, area of Polissya).
Museum of drug plants
Museum of drug plants is situated in the hothouse under glass. Doors of the museum are decorated with pictures of drag plants.
Museum of beekeeping
“Museum of history of beekeeping” is situated in the building of XIX century, transported from the village of Pomokli of Pereyaslav- Khmelnitskij region. Showcases exhibit plates and dishes of the era of Kievan Rus and savings of honey, recreation of the process of producing the artificial wild bees nest, beehive of XVIII century.
Museum of M.M. Bonardos
In 1981, upon the decision of UNESCO, the whole world celebrated the 100th anniversary of the greatest inventions of XI century – electric arc welding of metals. In memory of this remarkable date, with participation and with the help of Institute of electric welding named after E.O. Paton, museum of the inventor M.M. Benardos was opened in our city, in the house, transported from the village of Voron’kov of Boryspil region.
Museum of applied and decorative arts
This museum is situated in the house of nobleman of XIX century, transported in 1973-1974 from the village of Starovychi of Ivankivsk region of Kyiv oblast. Five halls contain works of the famous national craftsmen, who participated in republican exhibitions in 1970-1971.
Museum of the world perception and peaceful mastering of the space
Exposition of the museum includes the automatic apparatus “Lunahod-1”, convertible armchair from the spaceship “Soyuz”, firing apparatus, spacesuit and parachute of Yurij Gagarin, computing complex “Minsk-1”, operating model of Bajkonur system.
Museum of the land transport
Museum of national land transport, funds of which contain 1400 exhibits, was opened in 1993 in the pavilion, which has 430 sq.m. of exposition area. Museum holds a unique collection of vehicles – the only one in Ukraine.
Museum “Post office”
Exposition of the museum was created in the building of the post office in the town of Pereyaslav on the crossroads of Starokyivska and Moskovska streets. It was transported and mounted on the Kyiv-Poltava post road of XIX century.
Museum of corn
In 1984 the Museum of corn was opened on the territory of the museum “In the open air”. This museum shows the development of agriculture and technique for bread baking from the ancient times to nowadays. The museum contains more than 3500 exhibits.
Museum of Sholom-Aleikhem
Museum was opened in 1978 in honor of the 120th anniversary from the date of birth of the writer. The monument to Sholom-Aleikhem, created by sculptor Altschuler, is situated in front of the house.
“Dynamo” Stadium of Valeriy Lobanovskyi (3 Grushevskogo Street)
It is domestic arena of Dynamo football team. The stadium is named on behalf of Valeriy Vasyliovych Lobanovskyi who was a team coach for many years. Current name was assigned to the stadium on May 15, 2002.
The stadium designed by V.O. Osmaka and V.I. Bezpalyi was opened on June 12, 1933. Arena, built upon the model of Berlin stadium, carried the name of people’s commissar of internal affairs Balytskyi and had a capacity of 18 000 seats, part of which were located under wooden fore-roof.
Monument to Valeriy Lobanovskyi
Monument to the famous Ukrainian football coach Valeriy Lobanovskyi was opened near the entrance to Dynamo stadium in May 2003. Valeriy Lobanovskyi seats on the coach’s bench in strained posture and watches the game.
Sculptor Volodymyr Filatov is author of the project.
Monument to football players of Dynamo Kyiv
The monument was erected on memory of an event that took place during wartime. On August 9, 1942, the famous «match of deaths took place in Kyiv between football players of Kyiv bread-making plant team and German players of Flakelf team.
Kyiv team Start won with an account 5:3 against German football players. This match was; one often that took place in summer 1942 in occupied Kyiv.
The Olimpiysky National Sports Complex (55 Velyka Vasylkivska Street)
The Olimpiysky National Sports Complex is a multi-use sports facility in Kyiv. Its stadium is domestic football matches venue of National Football Team of Ukraine and FC Dynamo Kyiv.
Stadium construction started in 1936 on the place of former arena “Chervonyi Stadion” (Red Stadium) (opened in 1923). According to the project of architect M. I. Grechyna the capacity of new stadium had to constitute 50000 spectators seats. It had been planned to open the stadium on June 22, 1941, but due to unknown reasons it failed.
In 2012 the Olimpiysky NSC is to take three matches of group tournament: one of quarterfinals and final match of Euro Football Championship. The arena which is to be put in operation in 2011 will be capable to receive 69 004 men.
Museum of Sports Glory of Ukraine
It is located on 2 Esplanadna Street. Telephone: (044) 22013 09
National University of Physical Education and Sports of Ukraine (1 Fizkultury Street)
University was founded in 1930. Level of accreditation is IV. The Head of University is Platonov Volodymyr Mykolaiovych.
Educational and Training Base of FC Dynamo Kyiv «Koncha-Zaspa» (town of Koncha-Zaspa)
In 2002 State award in architectural and constructional art was for the first time in Ukraine granted to sports facility building. Such honor was awarded to Educational and Training Base (NTB) of FC «Dynamos (Kyiv) in Koncha-Zaspa.
It was built under the design of architect Vitaliy Oksiukovskyi. The new complex was opened on March, 28, 1998. Today many Kievites firmly associate the \ name of «Koncha-2aspa» with ultra-modem Educational and Training Base of FC «Dynamo» (Kyiv).
Restaurant-museum «TV Dynamo Home* – “U Metra” (4a Kyivska street, village of Kozyn, Koncha-Zaspa)
Establishment is sustained in soccer style with symbols of Dynamo-Kyiv club, the sports base of which is located not far away from it.
Unique signs of Dynamo Kyiv history, as well as historical certificates of its glorified coach Valeriy Vasyliovych Lobanovskyi are gathered here. Pennants, football boots and sport shirts, prizes and diplomas of different years, souvenirs from all corners of the world, balls and shirts with the autographs of famous football players, liquid pictures can be found here. Memorable signs of prominent dubs of the world, souvenir commemorating the first soccer match with Israel team are here as well.
Museums of Kyiv
National Museum of Art of Ukraine
The structure was built by the architect Vladyslav Gorodetsky especially for this first City Museum in Kyiv in 1899. It was built in neo-classic style (the building is a monument of architecture now). Sculptural design was made by E.Salya.
Bohdan and Varvara Khanenko, Tereschenko, V.Khvolka, M.Bilyashivsky, D.Scherbaklvsky, F.Ernst and others have great services In the development of the institution.
From 1964 – State Museum of Ukrainian Imitative Art, now – National Art Museum of Ukraine.
The National Museum of History of Ukraine
The national museum of the history of Ukraine started to work in honor of XI All-Russian archaeological congress; which took place in Kyiv from the first lo twentieth of August 1899.
The component of the National museum is the Museum of jewelleries, in the collection of which there are masterpieces of the universal Importance, dated by VI cent. BC – XX cent. AD. The collection of Scythian gold is one of the most interesting in the world. It is well-known the collection of the Jewish hieratic silver of the XVIII-XX cent, in Ukraine and be yond the borders of It.
The National Museum of Russian Art
The museum was opened in 1922 as Kyiv art gallery. The museum fund was based on the art collections of industrialists and patrons of Tereschenko. The initial exposition of the museum was about 200 works of art, now they are in more than 30 rooms. You can find a lot of works there, which became self-evident masterpieces of the universal importance.
The Museum named after Bohdan and Varvara Khanenko
The small mansion, which looks like Italian palazzo by its architecture, Is situated in one of the blocks of Kyiv In 15 Tereschenkivska Street. There is a relief picture of the emblem of the ancient Ukrainian kin of Khanenko on the facade between the windows of the second floor.
The building belonged to the last descendant of this family – Bohdan Ivanovych (1849 -1917) and his wife Varvara Nikolaevna (1852 -1922). The museum was opened in it, known as Kyiv museum of western and eastern art according to the decree of the Soviet power from 1919. The name, that was entrusted by the founders – The Museum of Art named after Bohdan and Varvara Khanenko, was given according to decree of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine in 1999.
The collection of Kyiv museum is the biggest collection of foreign art in Ukraine thanks to Khanenko’s collecting work during many years.
The museum of outstanding people of Ukrainian culture Lesya Ukrainka, Mykola Lysenko, Panas Saksagansky, Myhailo Starytsky
The museum of outstanding people of Ukrainian culture was founded in 1987. The museum expositions are in the memorial houses, where the outstanding masters lived, and which was kept to our time: Ukrainian poetess of genius and dramatist Lesya Ukrainka, founder of professional composer school Mykola Lysenko, writer, theatre figure Myhailo Starytsky, coryphaeus of Ukrainian theatre, actor Panas Saksagansky.
The museum “Spiritual treasures of Ukraine”
The city museum «Spiritual treasures of Ukraine” Is a private museum in Kyiv, founded by the doctor cardiologist Igor Ponamarchuk. The building is in the historical part of the city in Desyatynna Street.
There are about 300 icons of the end of XV beginning of XX century and the masterpieces of Ukrainian folk artist Mariya Prylmachenko In the exposition. The art and sculpture exhibitions of modern masters are held in one more hall.
Parks of Kyiv
Kyiv zoological park
Kyiv zoological park is ecological cultural-and-educational and research organization of the city Kyiv.
The spring of 1909, when it got the territory for the placing and permission to raise money for animal keeping, should be considered as the official time of the foundation of Kyiv zoological park and the beginning of its activity. The zoo became the property of the new formed state and got the status “Kyiv zoological park” in 1919. Kyiv zoo got the status of State zoological park. It was put in the network of territories and objects of the natural reserved fund in 1983.
Botanic Garden named after academician Fomin
The architect V.l. Beretti, under the project of which Saint Volodymyr university was built, proposed to place the garden in the ravines, bordered on the university building.
The date of foundation of Kyiv botanic garden is 22 May 1839. It was founded by the professor of botany R.E. Trautfetter. The garden got the status of standing one at the end of 1841. The hothouse complex and the terraces, which are also kept to these days, were built by the plan of the architect Laufer. Final arranging of the garden was finished to 1850.
Park named after Taras Shevchenko
Park named after T. G. Shevchenko (Mykolaivsky square) was opened in 1890 and named University garden. The gardener Carl Christiani considered the affair excellently. He has managed to create strange park complex that is united with Red house of the university and with botanic garden on the small square (only 5.4 ha). There is a fountain in the form of the Black sea in the park.
Central Botanic Garden named after Gryshko NAS of Ukraine
The idea of its creation was originated in autumn 1918, when The National Academy of Sciences was established. There was a Botanic garden among its organizations. Its science bases was commenced by the works of worldwide known florist, traveler and expert in botanic gardens of the world, one of the first Presidents of the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine – Volodymyr Ipolytovych Lypsky (1863- 1937). It was he who proved the idea of such botanic garden, drew its structure and areas of activities, worked out the building plans.
Botanic garden is a part of natural reserved fund of Ukraine. And it is the object of the complex protection. It belongs to the lands of natural and historical and cultural destination that are protected as a national achievement of the state.
Pechersk Landscape Park
Pechersk Landscape Park was created on the hills that slope from the complex of National museum of the Great Patriotic War of 1941 -1945 to Dnipro in 1981.
The area of the park is about 30 ha.
Singing field and the cascade staircases occupy the central part of the park to Dniprovska embankment (naberezhna). The flower shows regularly take place in the park.
The Park of Eternal Fame
The park of Eternal Fame is situated on the area of 9.5 ha. It was created on the basis of Anosivsky (Komendantsky) garden, laid in 1894.
The vegetable kingdom of the park is represented by different kinds of maple, Lombardy poplars and oaks, rhododendrons, lime-trees, birches, bird cherry trees, viburnum, willows, etc.
The reconstruction was held in the park in 1957.The memorial was built during it. The memorial with the monument of the Eternal Fame was installed on the grave of the Unknown Soldier in the park this year. The monument is twenty seven’ me tre-long obelisk. The grave of the Unknown Soldier is near the pedestal of It. This is the eternal flame above the grave (architects are A. Myletsky, V.Baklanov, L.Novikov).
There is also the Memorial in honor to the memories of the victims of famishments in Ukraine – the memorial complex. It was opened on the territory of the Park of Fame near Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra by the 75th anniversary of the Famishment (November 2008). The authors of the memorable symbol are: the artist – A. Gaydamaka, architect – Y. Kovalyov.
It was laid on the dniprovsky slopes on the place of Palatial ground under the project of gardener O.G. Nedzelsky in 1874 after the considerable reconstruction of Mariinsky palace in 1868 -1870. The park, the area of which is 8,9 ha, was planned in the landscape style.
City (Royal) garden is situated between Mariinsky and Khreschaty parks. The area is 11.7 hectare. It is laid on the basis of the ancient Regular garden in 1743. The fruit trees were planted; the hothouses-were built in the park with the assistance of gardeners D. Foka and L. I. Gofmeister. The park sculptures of Lesya Ukrainka and Mariya Zankovetska were installed in the part of the park between Mariinsky Palace and the stadium “Dynamo” in 1965 and 1974.
Khreschaty Park was laid as a Garden of the Merchant meeting near Evropeiska Square, on the hills of Dnipro, along Volodymyrsky uzviz in 1882. The house of the Merchant meeting (now it is Pillared hall named after M.V. Lysenko) was built in it this year. The area is 11.8 hectare. The part of the park was a part of Royal garden (present City garden) in due time.
Park Volodymyrska Girka
Park Volodymyrska Girka was laid in the middle of XIX century. The total area is 10.6 ha.
The park is situated on the upper and middle terraces of Zamkova Hora. The upper part of this hill was occupied by the buildings of Izyaslav city and Myhaylivsky Zolotoverhy monastery. Arranging and planning of the slopes was started in 1830s. The monument to prince Volodymyr was built on the western spur of the hill in 1853 and since then the eastern part of Myhaylivska Hora started to name Volodymyrska Hora, and the same name got the created park there.